Lazarus Zim the new Telkom chairman

Telkom today announced that their current chairman, Jeff Molobela, will be retiring as of 16 February and will be replaced by Mr. Polelo Lazarus Zim who has been appointed as the new Chairman for a period of 1 year. 

Molobela will however not be lost to Telkom, and has been re-appointed as a non-executive director of the Telkom Board for a 3 year period.

“Telkom is grateful to Mr Molobela for his leadership, dedication, contribution and service during his tenure as chairman of the board,” said Telkom in their SENS announcement.

Zim has an MCom from RAU and an honorary Doctorate from Fort Hare. He has served, amongst others, as the CEO for the M-Net Channel, MD of Supersport, MD of MTN International and Chief Executive of Anglo America.

He is also a shareholder and director of TNA Media, publishers of The New Age Newspaper.

Other changes to the Telkom Board of Directors include the appointment of Mr. Navin Kapila as a non-executive director, the re-appointment of Ms. RJ Huntley and Ms. JN Hope as non-executive directors, and the termination of Dr. Victor Lawrence’s appointment as a non-executive shareholder.

The appointments of Zim, Kapila and Molobela, and Ms. RJ Huntley and Ms. JN Hope are made by the Government of South Africa, Telkom’s Class A shareholder holding 39.8% of the issued share capital as at 31 January 2011.

Lazarus Zim the new Telkom chairman << Comments and views

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
Lazarus Zim the new Telkom chairman