Oracle to launch local servers in South Africa

Oracle has announced that it will launch 20 new data server regions by the end of 2020, bringing its total number of cloud infrastructure regions up to 36.

This expansion is focused on existing regions as well as countries in “geographically-separated” regions, which include Australia, India, Japan, and South Africa.

Oracle said it expects to open an average of one region every 23 days over the next 15 months for a total of 20 additional regions.

“As planned, 11 of the countries or jurisdictions served by local cloud regions will have two or more regions to facilitate in-country or in-jurisdiction disaster recovery capabilities,” said Oracle.

“Oracle’s Gen 2 Cloud Infrastructure makes this possible through highly-optimized region deployment technologies, which can implement an entire software-defined data center and customer-facing cloud services in days.”

The full list of regions scheduled for Oracle Cloud infrastructure deployment is below:

  • Netherlands
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • India
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

The company is also expanding the number of regions interconnected with Microsoft Azure, which it said would enable government customers to more easily move their applications into the cloud.

Microsoft has already launched Azure data centres in South Africa, and AWS has confirmed its plans to open a local data centre next year.

Now read: Oracle unveils autonomous operating system

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
Oracle to launch local servers in South Africa