AMD’s FreeSync now has 3 tiers

AMD announced at CES 2020 that it will restructure FreeSync – its adaptive frame rate technology – into three tiers.

Alongside the base FreeSync tier, there will now also be FreeSync Premium and FreeSync Premium Pro.

FreeSync Premium is a new level which improves upon the technology by offering two key additional features:

  • At least a 120Hz refresh rate at a minimum of FHD resolution
  • Low framerate compensation (LFC)

LFC ensures that when a game is running below the minimum supported refresh rate of a display, frames are displayed numerous times to maintain smooth gameplay.

AMD said that over 300 monitors already qualify for the FreeSync Premium tier.

FreeSync Premium Pro, the top tier, was previously known as FreeSync 2 HDR, and improves upon FreeSync Premium by offering HDR support.

“Displays certified for the AMD FreeSync Premium Pro tier include highly accurate luminance and wide colour gamut testing to enable an exceptional HDR visual gaming experience,” said AMD.

AMD added that the base FreeSync tier will remain “an industry baseline for monitors, laptops, and TVs that have been designed and tested to meet a quality standard of performance”.

“Regardless of tier, all FreeSync monitors go through a comprehensive certification process, which tests various aspects such as no tearing, low flicker, and low latency to enable highly responsive gaming.”

Now read: Acer’s epic 55-inch 4K OLED monitor – All the details

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
AMD’s FreeSync now has 3 tiers