South African Communications Ministers – 2007 to 2017

South Africa’s telecommunications and ICT market is suffering because of poor governance by the Department of Communications.

The department has been underperforming for years, which in turn has stifled progress in the local telecoms market.

A good example is the ongoing struggle to complete the digital migration process and hand much-needed broadband spectrum to operators.

The Department of Communications missed its deadline of November 2011 to complete the digital migration, and also missed the international deadline of June 2015.

In May, the Department of Communications told Parliament it may miss its new deadline for digital migration.

This was due to “supply chain management irregularities” and “collusion issues”.

One of the biggest problems at the department is the regular changing of ministers and the associated lack of continuity.

New ministers with very little knowledge of the ICT space are employed by the department, which stalls important processes.

With eight ministers in as many years, it is easy to see why the Department of Communications is such a mess.

An overview of the communications ministers of the past decade is shown below.

Ivy Matsepe-Casaburri: June 1999 – April 2009

Ivy Matsepe-Casaburri

Manto Tshabalala-Msimang: April 2009 – May 2009

Manto Tshabalala-Msimang

Siphiwe Nyanda: May 2009 – October 2010

siphiwe nyanda

Roy Padayachie – November 2010 – October 2011

Roy Padayachie

Dina Pule: October 2011 – July 2013

Dina Pule

Yunus Carrim: July 2013 – May 2014

Yunus Carrim at SATNAC 2013

Faith Muthambi: May 2014 – March 2017

Faith Muthambi

Ayanda Dlodlo – March 2017 – Present

Ayanda Dlodlo

Now read: How the government’s spectrum plans are costing you money

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
South African Communications Ministers – 2007 to 2017