Here is President Cyril Ramaphosa’s new cabinet – All the ministers and deputy ministers

President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced his new cabinet, which will lead South Africa.

Following his recent inauguration, Ramaphosa said that while South Africans have felt the warm embrace of liberty, they have also known moments of doubt.

He highlighted that the problems the country face include poverty, poor healthcare, unemployment, and corruption.

“Our people have watched as some of those in whom they had invested their trust have surrendered to the temptation of power and riches,” he said.

“They have seen some of the very institutions of our democracy eroded and resources squandered. The challenges that we face are real, but they are not insurmountable.”

New cabinet

Many South Africans have called on Ramaphosa to cut the size of his cabinet and remove incompetent and corrupt ministers. This has been done to a degree, with the number of ministers reduced from 36 to 28. However, certain departments have been given two deputy ministers.

Below is Ramaphosa’s new cabinet, which was announced today.

President Cyril Ramaphosa’s New Cabinet
Portfolio Minister Deputy Minister
President of South Africa Cyril Ramaphosa N/A
Deputy President of South Africa David Mabuza N/A
Agriculture, Land Reform, Rural Development Thoko Didiza Mcebisi Skwatsha and Sdumo Dlamini
Arts and Culture, Sports and Recreation Nathi Mthethwa Nocawe Mafu
Basic Education Angie Motshekga Regina Mhaule
Communications Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams Pinky Kekana
Cooperative Governance , Traditional Affairs Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma Obed Bapela and Parks Tau
Defence and Military Veterans Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula Thabang Makwelta
Energy, Mineral Resources Gwede Mantashe Bavelile Hlongwa
Environmental Affairs, Forestry and Fisheries Barbara Creecy Maggie Sotyu
Employment and Labour Thulas Nxesi Boitumelo Moloi
Finance Tito Mboweni David Masondo
Health Zwelini Mkhize Joe Phaala
Higher Education and Training, Science and Technology Blade Nzimande Buti Manamela
Home Affairs Aaron Motsoaledi Njabulo Nzuza
Human Settlements, Water and Sanitation Lindiwe Sisulu Pam Tshwete and David Mahlobo
International Relations and Cooperation Naledi Pandor Alvin Botes and Candith Mashego-Dlamini
Justice and Correctional Services Ronald Lamola John Jeffery and Inkosi Phathekile Holomisa
Minister in the Presidency Jackson Mthembu Thembi Siweya
Police Bheki Cele Cassel Mathale
Public Enterprises Pravin Gordhan Phumulo Masualle
Public Service and Administration Senzo Mchunu Sindy Chikunga
Public Works and Infrastructure Patricia De Lille Noxolo Kiviet
Small Business Development Khumbudzo Ntshavheni Rosemary Capa
Social Development Lindiwe Zulu Henrietta Bogopane-Zulu
State Security Ayanda Dlodlo Zizi Kodwa
Tourism Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane Fish Mahlalela
Trade and Industry, Economic Development Ebrahim Patel Fikile Majola and Nomalungelo Gina
Transport Fikile Mbalula Dikeledi Magadzi
Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities Maite Nkoana-Mashabane Hlengiwe Mkhize

Now read: What Ramaphosa must do to stop IT professionals from leaving South Africa

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
Here is President Cyril Ramaphosa’s new cabinet – All the ministers and deputy ministers