Public transport operators exempt from E-toll

A total of 45,700 public transport operators have been exempt from paying e-tolls in Gauteng so far, the transport department said on Wednesday.

“Those who qualify for this exemption are public transport operators in possession of valid permits and operating licences and whose vehicles are registered on the eNatis system,” spokeswoman Octavia Mamabolo said in a statement.

“Those exempted constitutes the vast majority of taxis operating in the province.”

Public transport operators bringing commuters from neighbouring provinces to Gauteng daily also qualified for exemptions and should contact the SA National Roads Agency Limited to register for exemptions.

“However, public transport operators from other provinces who transport passengers occasionally to Gauteng do not qualify for exemptions,” said Mamabolo.

The e-toll system came into effect on Tuesday. It compels motorists to pay to use certain highways around Gauteng.

On Monday, a last-minute attempt by the Freedom Front Plus to stop e-tolling failed. The party’s case was struck from the roll by the High Court in Pretoria for lack of urgency.

The Democratic Alliance said it intended taking its fight against e-tolling to the courts and would argue that the legislation providing for e-tolls was incorrectly tagged as national, rather than provincial.

More e-toll news

Gauteng motorists dodge tolled routes: JMPD

Disabled people protest against e-tolls

E-toll day 1 aftermath

E-toll protest goes airborne

Sanral arrogant and evasive over e-tolls: JPSA

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
Public transport operators exempt from E-toll