AMD unveils new R9 Fury X graphics card

AMD has shown off its new 300 series graphics cards, which feature its “Fiji” GPU.

Two of the cards revealed were the R9 Fury and R9 Fury X, which will sell for $550 and $650 respectively in the States.

The Fury cards have 4,096 stream processors, which allow for 8.6 teraflops of performance at a 1,050MHz core clock.

The cards also feature “high-bandwidth memory”, which the company claims gives them three-times the performance-per-watt compared to GDDR5 while using less space on the printed circuit board, along with an “unprecedented 4096-bit memory interface”.

The only difference between the cards, according to reports, is that the Fury X is water-cooled, while its cheaper counterpart is air-cooled.

AMD also unveiled a 6-inch card, the R9 Nano, along with the R7 360, R7 370, R9 380, R9 390, and R9 390X.

The R9 Fury is available from 14 July, while the Fury X hits the shelves on 24 July.

AMD added that a dual-GPU Fury card will be available later in 2015.

AMD’s executives speak about the R9 Fury X in the video below.

More hardware news

Massive 84″ Microsoft Surface Hub gets massive price

Steam Controller confirmed for South Africa

Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti – performance at a price

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
AMD unveils new R9 Fury X graphics card