Official 8K TV specification unveiled

The Consumer Technology Association (CTA) has released the official specification for 8K UHD TVs.

Included with the specification is a logo which will signify whether a TV meets the requirements for official certification or not, making it easier for consumers to know whether they are buying a legitimate 8K display.

The CTA said the 8K Ultra HD logo license and certification agreement will be available in the coming weeks, and the logo may be used starting from 1 January 2020.

Displays must meet the following requirements to be classified as “8K” under the new specifications:

  • Display resolution – At least 33 million active pixels, minimum resolution of 7,680 x 4,320 in a 16:9 aspect ratio.
  • Digtal inputs – One or more HDMI slots supporting 8K resolution, a bit depth of 10 bits, frame rates of 24, 30, and 60 frames per second, and HDR transfer functions.
  • Up-conversion – Capability to upscale lower resolutions to 8K UHD.
  • Bit depth – Capability to receive 10-bit 8K images and render images which are responsive to changes to any of the 10 bits.

“This 8K Ultra HD definition is the product of our Video Division Board’s dedication and hard work,” said CTA CEO Gary Shapiro.

“As a result, retailers and consumers will know products that carry the accompanying logo deliver 8K UHD quality and performance.”

The CTA projected that sales of 8K UHD TVs would reach 175,000 units in 2019, with continued growth expected in subsequent years.

8K UDH logo

Now read: The death of curved TVs in South Africa

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
Official 8K TV specification unveiled