New Facebook Reactions are here

Facebook has rolled out its new Reactions – Love, Angry, Sad, Haha, and Wow – for users across the globe.

The new emoticons are available to PC users by hovering over the Like button, and to mobile users when they hold down the Like button.

Facebook explained that the new Reactions are an extension of the Like button, to “give you more ways to share your reaction to a Facebook post in a quick and easy way”.

Facebook said the goal with its News Feed is to show you the stories that matter most to you.

“Initially, just as we do when someone likes a post, if someone uses a Reaction, we will infer they want to see more of that type of post,” said Facebook.

“In the beginning, it won’t matter if someone likes, “wows”, or “sads” a post – we will initially use any Reaction similar to a Like to infer that you want to see more of that type of content.”

Facebook said it hopes to learn how the different Reactions should be weighted differently by its News Feed to do a better job of showing everyone the stories they want to see.

More on Facebook

Facebook Live Video now in South Africa

Facebook Messenger SMS integration may be here soon

There is a hidden chess game in Facebook Messenger

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
New Facebook Reactions are here