WhatsApp is used by over 1 billion people in 180 countries.
The ubiquity of the app means that a user’s phone number is often the first contact detail requested when looking to communicate with them.
Unfortunately, this does not always end well – and some users resort to blocking contacts they no longer wish to talk to.
Detailed below is how to tell if you have been blocked by a WhatsApp contact, and what happens if you block someone.
Blocked by a WhatsApp contact
WhatsApp said there are several indicators you may have been blocked by a contact.
- You can no longer see a contact’s last seen or online in the chat window.
- You do not see updates to a contact’s profile photo.
- Messages sent will always show one check mark and never show a second check mark.
- Any calls you attempt to place will not go through.
WhatsApp said it has made the information available on blocking “intentionally ambiguous” to protect users’ privacy.
What happens when you block a contact
“When you block people on WhatsApp, you will no longer receive WhatsApp messages or calls from them,” said WhatsApp.
WhatsApp messages sent by a blocked contact will not show up on your phone and will never be delivered to you, as detailed above.
“Blocking someone will not remove this contact from your WhatsApp list, nor will it remove you from the list on this contact’s phone.”
If you unblock a contact, you will not receive any calls or messages that person sent you during the time they were blocked.