Google changing Chrome sign-ins in version 70
Google has announced updates to its Chrome browser which will be implemented in version 70.
Google stated that it recently changed how Chrome handled sign-ins, and when users signed into any Google website they were also signed into Chrome.
“When you sign out, either directly from Chrome or from any Google website, you’re completely signed out of your Google Account. We want to be clear that this change to sign-in does not mean Chrome sync gets turned on,” said Google.
The company said it has received feedback from users, and will make changes to the browser in version 70.
“While we think sign-in consistency will help many of our users, we’re adding a control that allows users to turn off linking web-based sign-in with browser-based sign-in.”
For users that disable the feature, signing into a Google website will not sign them into Chrome.
Chrome’s UI is also being updated to “better communicate a user’s sync state”.
“We’re also going to change the way we handle the clearing of auth cookies. Chrome currently keeps Google auth cookies to allow users to stay signed in after cookies are cleared.
“We will change this behaviour so that all cookies are deleted and you will be signed out.”