Google recently announced its decision to shut down its Google+ social media platform due to a lack of engagement from users.
The company has now provided an outline of how the platform will be shelved, with the first stage beginning from February 2019.
From 4 February, consumers will no longer be able to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities, or events, marking the first step in the deconstruction of the service.
In the weeks that follow, Google will begin replacing Google+ sign-in buttons with standard Google account sign-in options, and it will remove Google+ comments from websites by 7 March 2019.
Users who have pages, communities, and media stored in their Google+ profile must download and save their content before April 2019, as all of the data from consumer accounts will be deleted on 2 April 2019.
Google+ accounts for G Suite customers will remain active and will receive new features along with an interface overhaul in the near future.
“From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place. We are grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders, and thought leaders who made Google+ their home,” Google said.
“It would not have been the same without your passion and dedication.”