Uber ending post-trip tracking of riders – Report

Uber will disable a feature in its app that let it track riders for up to five minutes after a trip ended, Reuters reported.

The change to the feature restores a user’s ability to share location data only while using the app.

It will reportedly be rolled out to iPhone users this week.

Reuters added that Uber is trying to recover from a series of crises that resulted in the removal of founder Travis Kalanick and other top executives.

Uber chief security officer Joe Sullivan said the change has nothing to do with the recent problems in the company, however.

Sullivan said his team have been working to improve customer privacy at Uber since he joined in 2015, and Uber made a mistake by asking to collect location data from riders after a trip.

Should Uber decide that tracking a user’s location for five minutes after a ride is valuable, it will explain what the value is and allow users to opt in, said Sullivan.

Now read: Uber launches new safety features in South Africa

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments

Recommended

Share this article
Uber ending post-trip tracking of riders – Report