Uber will deactivate riders with bad ratings

Uber has refreshed its community guidelines for riders and drivers, starting with users in the United States and Canada.

Riders and drivers in these countries will be presented with a summary of the new guidelines upon opening their Uber app, and they will need to confirm that they understand them or they may lose access to Uber.

The biggest change to Uber’s community guidelines is the increased emphasis on rider ratings, with riders now at risk of having their Uber account deactivated if their rating is too low.

“Riders may lose access to Uber if they develop a significantly below average rating,” Uber said.

“Riders will receive tips on how to improve their ratings, such as encouraging polite behavior, avoiding leaving trash in the vehicle and avoiding requests for drivers to exceed the speed limit.”

Uber said that riders will have a number of opportunities to improve their rating before they lose their access to the ride-hailing app.

“Drivers have long been expected to meet a minimum rating threshold which can vary city to city,” Uber said.

“While we expect only a small number of riders to ultimately be impacted by ratings-based deactivations, it’s the right thing to do.”

Uber did not state when it would begin rolling out these changes to other regions around the world.

Now read: Elon Musk pushes Tesla delivery employees

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments

Recommended

Share this article
Uber will deactivate riders with bad ratings