Google Chrome now warns you if your password is stolen

Google has announced a number of new security enhancements for its Chrome web browser.

When you next log into an online platform or profile, Chrome will notify you if your username and password were exposed in data breaches.

Exposed credentials can be stolen by hackers and used to access your accounts for malicious purposes.

If your credentials were found to have been compromised, the browser will suggest that you change these everywhere they are used.

A variation of this feature called Password Checkup was introduced as an extension in early 2019.

In October, it was also made available in Google Accounts as a tool that allowed users to manually perform scans of their saved passwords.

Going forward, this feature will serve warnings automatically to users as they browse. Google said it will be rolled out gradually to users who are signed in to Chrome.

Predictive phishing protections

Google added that it has improved its real-time phishing protection on the desktop version of Chrome to warn users about malicious sites in 30% more cases.

This protection will be available to all Chrome users with the “Make searches and browsing better” setting enabled.

Enhanced predictive phishing protection will also warn Google Account holders if they are entering their credentials into a suspicious site.

To enable this feature, users must be logged in to Chrome and have Sync enabled.

Now read: Gmail rolls out new attachment feature

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments

Recommended

Share this article
Google Chrome now warns you if your password is stolen