WhatsApp brings View Once back to desktop

WhatsApp has reinstated its popular “View Once” feature for images and videos on its web and desktop platforms, WABetaInfo reports.

The feature lets users opt to send temporary images and videos that disappear after being viewed by the recipient.

The View Once feature was removed in 2022 as WhatsApp didn’t have any way to prevent users from taking screenshots on desktop, leading to privacy concerns.

According to WABetaInfo, the feature has been slowly returning to the desktop platform, and the rollout appears to be speeding up.

However, it isn’t available to all web, Windows, and MacOS users yet.

While many will be pleased with the return of the popular feature, some may be upset by another change that relates specifically to Android users.

Google wants to make WhatsApp backups count towards users’ Google Drive storage allowances.

The company says the change will roll out to beta testers in December 2023 before rolling out to everyone in early 2024.

Once a user’s Google Drive storage is full, WhatsApp backups on Android will stop working, and users must free up space on their Google Drive to continue to back up their WhatsApp chats.


Now read: Amazon launching Q AI chatbot for businesses

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments

Recommended

Share this article
WhatsApp brings View Once back to desktop