WhatsApp has changed how long you are able to use the “delete for everyone” feature for, The Verge reported.
The ability to delete a message after sending it first rolled out during October 2017, and users had 7 minutes to delete a sent message.
With the new update, users have 1 hour, 8 minutes, and 16 seconds to delete a message, WABetaInfo found. Commenters pointed out this is 212 seconds.
WhatsApp provides the following caveats to deleting messages after they have been sent:
- For messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp.
- Recipients may see (and screenshot) your message before it’s deleted, or continue to see it if deletion was not successful.
- You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.