Google Translate can read 13 new languages

Google Translate has added visual translation support for 13 new languages, including Arabic and Hindi, VentureBeat reports.

This allows the application to recognise and read physical, real-world text through a smartphone camera and translate the text in real-time.

The addition of these new languages brings the total number of languages supported by the Translate app up to almost 50.

Translate uses technology called Neural Machine Translation (NMT) to translate physical text into the chosen supported language, and can be used to translate text on items like dinner menus and signs almost instantly.

Google said the update is available for Android and iOS users and would roll out to Translate users worldwide over the next few days.

Now read: Google unveils Home Hub

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
Google Translate can read 13 new languages