2018 MyBroadband Conference and Expo in photos

The 2018 MyBroadband Conference and Expo took place at the Gallagher Convention Centre in Midrand on 18 October.

This year’s event showed why it is the premier IT and telecoms conference in South Africa, with speakers and exhibitions from the country’s top tech companies.

Thousands of IT executives and decision-makers from across South Africa attended the conference.

Openserve was the lead sponsor of the event, with Liquid Telecom joining as the event partner. MTN was the executive sponsor and the title sponsor was Vodacom.

Delegates were treated to presentations from South Africa’s top ICT executives, including Openserve CCO Althon Beukes, Liquid Telecom SA CEO Reshaad Sha, Vodacom CEO Shameel Joosub, and MTN SA CTO Giovanni Chiarelli.

Other speakers included Q-KON CEO Dawie de Wet, DFA CEO Thinus Mulder, SqwidNet MD Phathizwe Malinga, and Telkom CEO of Consumer and Small Business Serame Taukobong.

The afternoon session featured Huawei’s chief strategy architect of South Africa Region Miguel Geraldes, and Nokia Software’s vice president global enterprise business Sandeep Sharma.

The panel discussion featured three telecoms veterans – Vodacom innovation head Jannie van Zyl, Delta Electronics regional head Coenraad Kleinhans, and Avanti Communications group country manager Brenden Pronk.

Delegates were also able to see the latest products and services on offer from South Africa’s top IT and telecoms companies in the conference’s exhibition hall.

MyBroadband Conference 2018

For those who missed this year’s conference, below is a pictorial of what took place on the day.

Delegates arrive for the conference.


The speaking hall.

Emcee Aki Anastasiou opens the conference.

Aki Anastasiou

Openserve CCO Althon Beukes delivers the keynote address.

Liquid Telecom South Africa Chief Executive Officer Reshaad Sha.

MTN SA Chief Technology and Information Officer Giovanni Chiarelli.

Q-KON Chief Executive Officer and Engineering Executive Dr. Dawie de Wet.

Dawie de Wet

DFA Chief Executive Officer Thinus Mulder.

Thinus Mulder

SqwidNet Managing Director Phathizwe Malinga.

Phathizwe Malinga

Telkom Chief Executive Officer of Consumer and Small Business Serame Taukobong.

Serame Taukobong

Vodacom Chief Executive Officer Shameel Joosub.

Shameel Joosub

Huawei Chief Strategy Architect of Southern Africa Region Miguel Geraldes.

Miguel Geraldes

Panel discussion with Jannie van Zyl, Coenraad Kleinhans, and Brenden Pronk.

Panel Discussion

Jannie van Zyl

Coenraad Kleinhans

Brenden Pronk

Nokia Software Vice President Global Enterprise Business Sandeep Sharma.

Sandeep Sharma

Expo Area and Networking.

IT Person of the Year – Liquid Telecom CEO Reshaad Sha

Internet Service Provider of the Year – Cool Ideas

Mobile Broadband Provider of the Year – MTN

Fixed Broadband Provider of the Year – Openserve

Best Mobile Network – Shared between MTN and Vodacom

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
2018 MyBroadband Conference and Expo in photos