2017 MyBroadband Conference in photos

The 2017 MyBroadband Conference took place at the Gallagher Convention Centre in Midrand on 26 October, and showed why it is the premier IT and telecoms event in South Africa.

Thousands of IT executives and managers from across South Africa attended the event, and the country’s top IT and telecommunications companies partnered with MyBroadband for the conference.

Openserve was the lead sponsor of the event, with Liquid Telecom joining as the official conference partner, and Vodacom as the diamond sponsor.

Delegates enjoyed presentations from South Africa’s top ICT executives, including Openserve CSO Pushkar Gokhale, Liquid Telecom SA CEO Kyle Whitehill, Vodacom CEO Shameel Joosub, and Vumatel CEO Niel Schoeman.

Delegates also heard from MTN SA CEO Godfrey Motsa, SqwidNet CEO Reshaad Sha, Axiz Advanced Technologies CTO Jacques Malherbe, SensePost CTO Dominic White, and Cell C’s Wholesale Business CEO Björn Flormann.

The event’s panel discussion featured three telecoms veterans – Afrihost CEO Gian Visser, Vox CEO Jacques Du Toit, and Vodacom Innovation Head Jannie van Zyl.

Delegates were also able to see the latest products and services on offer from South Africa’s top IT and telecoms companies in the conference’s exhibition hall.

MyBroadband Conference 2017

For those who missed this year’s conference, below is a pictorial of what took place on the day.

Delegates arrive for the conference.

Openserve hostesses



Expo Hall

The speaking hall.

Speaker Hall

Speaking Hall


Conference Hall

Emcee Aki Anastasiou getting things started.


Openserve CSO Pushkar Gokhale delivers the keynote address.

Pushkar Gokhale

Liquid Telecom SA CEO Kyle Whitehill.

Kyle Whitehill

Vumatel CEO Niel Schoeman

Niel Schoeman

SqwidNet CEO Reshaad Sha

Reshaad Sha

MTN SA CEO Godfrey Motsa.

Godfrey Motsa

Panel discussion, with Rudolph Muller, Vox CEO Jacques du Toit, Vodacom head of innovation Jannie van Zyl, and Afrihost CEO Gian Visser.

Panel discussion

Jacques du Toit

Jannie van Zyl

Gian Visser

Lunch and visiting exhibition stands.





MyBroadband Awards, sponsored by Three6Five and announced by MyBroadband Editor Kevin Lancaster.

Kevin Lancaster


Mobile Broadband Provider of the Year – Telkom

IT Person of the Year – Vumatel CEO Niel Schoeman

Fixed Broadband Provider of the Year – Openserve

Best Mobile Network – Vodacom

Best Fixed Network – Openserve

Internet Service Provider of the Year – Axxess

Vodacom CEO Shameel Joosub.

Shameel Joosub

Axiz Advanced Technologies CTO Jacques Malherbe.

Jacques Malherbe

Cell C’s Wholesale Business CEO Björn Flormann.


SensePost CTO Dominic White.

Dominic White

Cocktails and networking.






Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
2017 MyBroadband Conference in photos