Big names on ICT Policy Review Panel

The South African Minister of Communications, Dina Pule, announced the ICT Policy Review Panel in a media statement issued today (10 December 2012).

This panel will advise the Department of Communications (DoC) as it proceeds towards developing a Green Paper and later, a White Paper on an integrated national information and communications technology (ICT) policy, the press release said.

“A lot of the respondents are people that we have worked with before and they bring a wealth of experience to our processes,” said Pule.

The DoC said that the panel will be divided into the six focus areas: broadcasting, telecommunications and information technology, postal, content development, digitising government, and investment and manufacturing.

The panel’s first meeting is scheduled for January 2013, a further three meetings are scheduled for the rest of next year. The terms of reference for the panel are available on the DoC website.

The names of the panelists are:

  1. Mr Charley Lewis
  2. Prof Shaun Pather
  3. Mr Calvo Mawela
  4. Mr Lehlohonolo Letele
  5. Dr Tracy Cohen
  6. Ms Kerron Edmonson
  7. Mr Lucky Masilela
  8. Ms Angeline Maseko
  9. Mr Johann Koster
  10. Mr Sizwe Lindelo Snail
  11. Mr Monde Twala
  12. Mr Sipho Johannes (Joe) Mjwara
  13. Ms Lulama Nongogo
  14. Ms Elizabeth Libby Lloyd
  15. Mr Hlukanisa Richard Jossy Zitha
  16. Mr Mothibi Glenview Ramusi
  17. Mr Atul Gupta
  18. Mr Mpho Mosimane
  19. Ms Febe Potgieter
  20. Prof Tshilidzi Marwala
  21. Mr Peter Uys
  22. Mr Snakes Nkateko Nyoka

ICT Policy Review panel nominations open

ICASA and DoC – is there a power struggle?

A tale of talkshops

Talk, talk, talk, but no action whatsoever

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
Big names on ICT Policy Review Panel