The next generation of Wi-Fi will be named Wi-Fi 6

The Wi-Fi Alliance has announced the Wi-Fi 6 industry designation for products and networks that support the next generation of 802.11ax technology.

This re-branding of Wi-Fi standards aims to make the technology easier to understand and allow customers to easily determine the level of support offered by products.

Previously, users would have to examine the wireless technology of a device by comparing standards such as 802.11ac and 802.11n.

The Wi-Fi Alliance said its new technology will also be applicable retroactively, and can be used to refer to older Wi-Fi technology.

Subsequently, Wi-Fi 5 can be used to refer to devices which support 802.11ac, Wi-Fi 4 can refer to 802.11n, and so on.

“Each generation of Wi-Fi offers new features – faster speeds, increased throughput, and better experiences,” the organisation stated.

“Industry adoption of the new terminology will help users better understand the experience they can expect.”

The next-generation of Wi-Fi technology defined by the Wi-Fi 6 certification is expected to launch next year.

Now read: Ruckus Networks partners with VAST for Wi-Fi roaming

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
The next generation of Wi-Fi will be named Wi-Fi 6