Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 118 123451151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 1759

Thread: Screamer WiMax

  1. #1
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Back on planet Earth
    Posts
    593

    Default Screamer WiMax

    Thought it was worth creating a thread in this sub-forum.

    My experience to date:
    • Quick to do site test
    • Friendly
    • Some coordination problems with their installer (sub-contracted)
    • Individual service - not sure it will scale well but time will tell
    • Installation not yet live (2 days of antennae installation) due to a delay in provisioning me on their network


    So far I am happy but this will change if:
    • Any further delays in connecting (so far the reasons are relatively acceptable)
    • Latency or stability proves to be unacceptable


    Let's share our experiences as independent infrastructure operators are likely to take-off due to recent rulings.

  2. #2

    Default

    Well I have sent a email to them asking if there was coverage in my area and if they will be willing to test if my home has coverage and up to now I havent had any response from them.

  3. #3
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Just north of PTA
    Posts
    3,513

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Uli View Post
    Well I have sent a email to them asking if there was coverage in my area and if they will be willing to test if my home has coverage and up to now I havent had any response from them.
    Which area are you in?

    I am north of PTA (bundus)and we're covered.

  4. #4

    Default

    Hi Uli

    I apologise that you were not contacted and if you PM me your contact details I will make sure a signal strength test is carried out on Mon or Tues.

    Quote Originally Posted by Uli View Post
    Well I have sent a email to them asking if there was coverage in my area and if they will be willing to test if my home has coverage and up to now I havent had any response from them.
    I'm a Screamer!!
    www.screamer.co.za

    We're not stealing customers from our competitors, we're upgrading them

  5. #5
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Back on planet Earth
    Posts
    593

    Default

    Got the base setup working but they say they will fine tune over the next 24 hours or so. Getting between 250-350 ms to Wow European servers atm ... not too bad However this uses some of the tricks of the trade (registry hacks etc) to reduce latency so it isn't the native setup.

  6. #6

  7. #7

    Default

    hows local latency?
    VOX my new favorite ISP

  8. #8
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Back on planet Earth
    Posts
    593

    Default

    Getting about 130ms locally (measured to Speedtest.net's Jhb server). I have been told by Screamer that they spend the first few days after installation fine tuning the connection and that I can expect a significant improvement.

  9. #9

    Default

    What speeds can you expect from them? still waiting for my call.

  10. #10
    Super Grandmaster SharkBait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    7,579

    Default

    Maybe post a print screen of your speed test of how it is now and then again after they said they are done?

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Uli View Post
    What speeds can you expect from them? still waiting for my call.
    Hi Uli

    I have sent your details onto our branch in Hilton, Pmb and they will be in touch with you in the next day or 2.
    I'm a Screamer!!
    www.screamer.co.za

    We're not stealing customers from our competitors, we're upgrading them

  12. #12

    Default

    Thanks... I have no coverage in Hilton though. It feels like I am living in the bush, no adsl , no wimax, no mtn 3G , Vodacom 3G yes but cant seem to play games online with 3G. That sux.

  13. #13
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Back on planet Earth
    Posts
    593

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SharkBait View Post
    Maybe post a print screen of your speed test of how it is now and then again after they said they are done?
    Might be too late for this as they have been busy over the last few days and making some additional changes today whilst I am at work.

    I wonder though if they are shaping the traffic, which I was told they don't, as I get improved latency when tunnelling through HTTP.

  14. #14
    Super Grandmaster SharkBait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    7,579

    Default

    Have you done a speed test again?

  15. #15
    Wugger
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Silligong Valley
    Posts
    3,051

    Default

    Does Screamer use WiMax or WiFi?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 118 123451151101 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •