Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 21 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 313

Thread: Forcing Google Services to local (RSA) IP address

  1. #16

  2. #17
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Posts
    8,135
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    One thing that I forgot to mention, which you might run into, is the invalid X.509 certificate error that Firefox/IE would warn you about.
    So far I've only had this issue with Google Code (when trying to upload to SVN) and not when accessing Gmail.

  3. #18

    Default

    Schweet.

    I've been meaning to compile a list like that but copy & pasting it is just superior.

  4. #19

    Default Updated list with Youtube

    This is great news, thx pada. We love Google!

    I've added a few more hosts to get stuff like maps and images working. Some of the youtube video's also work, e.g. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lz55T...eature=channel . I haven't been very elegant in collecting the host names, some might even be wrong, so I'm sure your lists look much more impressive than mine I use Telkom DoBroadband1 with only local cap left.

    Code:
    # Google Searching
    196.23.168.147 www.google.co.za
    196.23.168.147 www.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 www.google.com
    
    # Gmail and chat withing Gmail
    196.23.168.147 mail.google.com
    196.23.168.147 chatenabled.mail.google.com
    
    # Google Code & Pada's Traffic Splitter Google Code address
    196.23.168.147 code.google.com
    196.23.168.147 traffic-splitter.googlecode.com
    196.23.168.147 www.gmodules.com
    
    # Google Earth
    196.23.168.147 kh.google.com
    196.23.168.147 kh.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 csi.gstatic.com
    196.23.168.147 csi.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 mw1.google.com
    196.23.168.147 mw2.google.com
    196.23.168.147 mw-small.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 mw-medium.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 earth.google.com
    
    # Google Services
    196.23.168.147 books.google.co.za
    196.23.168.147 calendar.google.com
    196.23.168.147 video.google.com
    196.23.168.147 news.google.com
    196.23.168.147 translate.google.com
    196.23.168.147 docs.google.com
    
    # Google Appengine
    196.23.168.147 blitz.appspot.com
    196.23.168.147 appengine.google.com
    196.23.168.147 www.google-analytics.com
    196.23.168.147 ssl.google-analytics.com
    
    # Blogspot
    196.23.168.147 googleappengine.blogspot.com
    196.23.168.147 www.blogger.com
    
    # Google Handling Servers
    196.23.168.147 clients0.google.com
    196.23.168.147 clients1.google.com
    196.23.168.147 clients2.google.com
    196.23.168.147 clients3.google.com
    196.23.168.147 id.google.com
    196.23.168.147 dl.google.com
    196.23.168.147 t0.gstatic.com
    196.23.168.147 t1.gstatic.com
    196.23.168.147 t2.gstatic.com
    196.23.168.147 t3.gstatic.com
    196.23.168.147 www.gstatic.com
    
    # Google Maps
    196.23.168.147 maps.google.co.za
    196.23.168.147 maps.google.com
    196.23.168.147 mt0.google.com
    196.23.168.147 mt1.google.com
    196.23.168.147 maps.gstatic.com
    196.23.168.147 khm.google.com
    196.23.168.147 gg.google.com
    196.23.168.147 cbk0.google.com
    196.23.168.147 cbk1.google.com
    196.23.168.147 cbk2.google.com
    196.23.168.147 cbk3.google.com
    
    # Youtube (Just testing)
    196.23.168.147 www.youtube.com
    196.23.168.147 www.youtube.co.za
    196.23.168.147 youtube-ui.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 s.ytimg.com
    196.23.168.147 www.youtube-nocookie.com
    196.23.168.147 pagead0.googlesyndication.com
    196.23.168.147 pagead1.googlesyndication.com
    196.23.168.147 pagead2.googlesyndication.com
    196.23.168.147 pagead3.googlesyndication.com
    196.23.168.147 webcache.googleusercontent.com
    196.23.168.147 0.tqn.com
    196.23.168.147 ad-emea.doubleclick.net
    196.23.168.147 i0.ytimg.com
    196.23.168.147 i1.ytimg.com
    196.23.168.147 i2.ytimg.com
    196.23.168.147 i3.ytimg.com
    196.23.168.147 i4.ytimg.com
    196.23.168.147 csi.google.com
    Exchange unprofitable religious speculations for actual God-contact; let in the fresh, healing waters of direct perception.

  5. #20
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Posts
    8,135
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Wow Catal, your list is massive. Thanks for your effort, as I'm sure many would love to make use of it
    I would certainly test a few of those.

    The Google Analytics one would be very useful for me, since many local sites use it for tracking users.
    Last edited by Pada; 21-06-2010 at 01:25 AM.

  6. #21

    Default

    It seems that if you try to watch a YouTube video and it gives you the "An error occurred please try later" message, then you need only refresh the page

    It gives an error if the video is not cached locally, but on your first attempt (where v*.nonxt*.c.youtube.com cannot be accessed) it initiates the local caching and then it should download the video from a x.lscachex.c.youtube.com on the second try. It also works with higher quality videos like 720p, just refresh after your first attempt. Most popular videos however are usually cached so it will work on the first try.

    This way it seems that Youtube is fully accessible on local bandwidth, at least with my TelkomDo1 account.
    Exchange unprofitable religious speculations for actual God-contact; let in the fresh, healing waters of direct perception.

  7. #22
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Somerset West
    Posts
    2,482

    Default

    Also, I never use the www. prefix. So you need to add it like this if you do not type www.
    Code:
    # Google Searching
    196.23.168.147 www.google.co.za
    196.23.168.147 google.co.za
    196.23.168.147 www.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 www.google.com
    196.23.168.147 google.com

  8. #23

    Default

    Sori guys, but I can't seem to get my gmail to work...

    Google search works fine.. but just can't click the search link... anyway..

    Could someone just help me?

    I just copied :

    # Google Searching
    196.23.168.147 www.google.co.za
    196.23.168.147 www.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 www.google.com

    # Gmail and chat withing Gmail
    196.23.168.147 mail.google.com
    196.23.168.147 chatenabled.mail.google.com

    # Google Code & Pada's Traffic Splitter Google Code address
    196.23.168.147 code.google.com
    196.23.168.147 traffic-splitter.googlecode.com

    # Google Earth
    196.23.168.147 kh.google.com
    196.23.168.147 kh.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 csi.gstatic.com
    196.23.168.147 csi.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 mw1.google.com
    196.23.168.147 mw2.google.com
    196.23.168.147 mw-small.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 mw-medium.l.google.com

    To the host notepad... but gmail still isn't connecting..
    Don't know what to say...

  9. #24
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Posts
    8,135
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    kaisterkai, could you provide us with the URL that you're trying to access Gmail with? Like http://mail.google.com/
    Also do a ping to that address and post the IP address that it resolved to here.
    eg. ping mail.google.com
    Should output something like 'Pinging mail.google.com [196.23.168.147]' where 196.23.168.147 is the IP address.

    Also tell us which browser you're using. It could be that you're using Internet Explorer and IE is preventing you from accessing Gmail due to an invalid certificate!?

  10. #25
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Stanger - KZN
    Posts
    4,862
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Hi Pada & Kaisterkai ,

    Maybe this can help, i noticed i was having issues using Firefox but when accessing the Gmail using internet explorer 8 it opened almost immediately, however i cannot narrow down as yet why it is like this but try using IE. I believe he is setup correct but if using Firefox it maybe having an issue however i will continue to monitor and test my side.

    There will be cases where Firefox users won't have a problem connecting (invalid certificate can be the issue here).

    keep us posted Kaisterkai

    Edit:

    WOW! Catal thanks for that updated list, you and Pada are doing an awesome job, keep it up

    OMG, youtube and that link of Antoine Dufour (flippin amazing guy), thanks again

    Funny how when uncapped internet comes along that we get these goodies for us on local (Telkom etc)
    Last edited by Yuu; 24-06-2010 at 10:56 PM. Reason: Thanks Pada & Catal
    unofficial mybroadband Telegram 5000 group challenge. Dare to enter the crazy?? Details [thread] to be coming soon...

  11. #26
    The Magician Tinuva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Virgo Super Cluster
    Posts
    7,206

    Default

    I think you guys don't need this anymore.

    On SAIX:
    Code:
    tpr-route-server>ping www.google.co.za
    Translating "www.google.co.za"...domain server (196.43.1.11) [OK]
    
    Type escape sequence to abort.
    Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 165.165.38.147, timeout is 2 seconds:
    !!!!!
    Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 1/2/4 ms
    
    tpr-route-server>traceroute www.google.co.za
    Translating "www.google.co.za"...domain server (196.43.1.11) [OK]
    
    Type escape sequence to abort.
    Tracing the route to www.l.google.com (165.165.38.147)
    
      1 tpr-ip-esr-1-fe-1-0-3.telkom-ipnet.co.za (196.25.9.45) 0 msec 0 msec 0 msec
      2 rrba-ip-lir-1-gig-0-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za (196.43.8.198) 0 msec 4 msec 0 msec
      3 196.43.26.106 0 msec 4 msec 0 msec
      4  *  *  * 
      5  *  *  *
    on WA:
    Code:
    Tracing route to www.l.google.com [155.232.240.19]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  vl64.cr1.blvd.cpt.za.wa.co.za [10.4.64.1]
      2     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  vl-blvd.cr.gw.cpt.za.wa.co.za [41.185.0.116]
      3     3 ms     2 ms     2 ms  vl40.er.gw.cpt.za.wa.co.za [41.185.0.98]
      4     2 ms     1 ms     1 ms  tenet.cinx.net.za [198.32.214.33]
      5     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  gc-cpt-bree-g21-23-19.uni.net.za [155.232.240.19]
    
    Trace complete.
    
    Tracing route to youtube-ui.l.google.com [155.232.240.16]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  vl64.cr1.blvd.cpt.za.wa.co.za [10.4.64.1]
      2     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  vl-blvd.cr.gw.cpt.za.wa.co.za [41.185.0.116]
      3     2 ms     2 ms     2 ms  vl40.er.gw.cpt.za.wa.co.za [41.185.0.98]
      4     1 ms     3 ms     1 ms  tenet.cinx.net.za [198.32.214.33]
      5     9 ms     1 ms     1 ms  gc-cpt-bree-g21-23-16.uni.net.za [155.232.240.16]
    
    Trace complete.
    Last edited by Tinuva; 25-06-2010 at 10:34 AM.
    Few people can see the genius in someone who has offended them.
    - Robertson Davies

  12. #27
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maropeng, die plek van die deng...
    Posts
    1,372

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Catal View Post
    It seems that if you try to watch a YouTube video and it gives you the "An error occurred please try later" message, then you need only refresh the page

    It gives an error if the video is not cached locally, but on your first attempt (where v*.nonxt*.c.youtube.com cannot be accessed) it initiates the local caching and then it should download the video from a x.lscachex.c.youtube.com on the second try. It also works with higher quality videos like 720p, just refresh after your first attempt. Most popular videos however are usually cached so it will work on the first try.

    This way it seems that Youtube is fully accessible on local bandwidth, at least with my TelkomDo1 account.
    Can confirm that it worked for me too. BTW, Youtube is working out of the box now on my capped SAIX account:

    tracert www.youtube.com

    Tracing route to youtube-ui.l.google.com [165.165.38.144]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms sx762.dummy.porta.siemens.net [10.0.0.2]
    2 7 ms 7 ms 8 ms dsl-146-208-01.telkomadsl.co.za [165.146.208.1]
    3 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms rrba-ip-lir-1-gig-0-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.43.8.198]
    4 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms 196.43.26.106
    5 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms 165.165.38.144

    Trace complete.
    Last edited by DearHeart; 25-06-2010 at 01:42 PM. Reason: Posted wrong trace

  13. #28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pada View Post
    kaisterkai, could you provide us with the URL that you're trying to access Gmail with? Like http://mail.google.com/
    Also do a ping to that address and post the IP address that it resolved to here.
    eg. ping mail.google.com
    Should output something like 'Pinging mail.google.com [196.23.168.147]' where 196.23.168.147 is the IP address.

    Also tell us which browser you're using. It could be that you're using Internet Explorer and IE is preventing you from accessing Gmail due to an invalid certificate!?
    I'm using:
    http://mail.google.com/mail/

    I tried ping, but it says time out..

    I'm using google chrome...
    Don't know what to say...

  14. #29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yuu View Post
    Hi Pada & Kaisterkai ,

    Maybe this can help, i noticed i was having issues using Firefox but when accessing the Gmail using internet explorer 8 it opened almost immediately, however i cannot narrow down as yet why it is like this but try using IE. I believe he is setup correct but if using Firefox it maybe having an issue however i will continue to monitor and test my side.

    There will be cases where Firefox users won't have a problem connecting (invalid certificate can be the issue here).

    keep us posted Kaisterkai

    Edit:

    WOW! Catal thanks for that updated list, you and Pada are doing an awesome job, keep it up

    OMG, youtube and that link of Antoine Dufour (flippin amazing guy), thanks again

    Funny how when uncapped internet comes along that we get these goodies for us on local (Telkom etc)
    I tried using IE 8.. but it doesn't open, and it takes long and then it says:

    internet explorer cannot display the webpage...

    I don't have firefox.. Could it be something with my internet connections..
    Don't know what to say...

  15. #30

    Default

    But an added thing, Youtbue seems to go fine... but just gmail..

    THanks
    Don't know what to say...

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 21 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •