You should join our great online community now - you can win great prizes
Register now
You should subscribe to our free MyBroadband newsletter


+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 21 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 313

Thread: Forcing Google Services to local (RSA) IP address

  1. #31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaisterkai View Post
    I tried using IE 8.. but it doesn't open, and it takes long and then it says:

    internet explorer cannot display the webpage...

    I don't have firefox.. Could it be something with my internet connections..
    kaisterkai nobody is going to help you if you still use the piece of shyte, now install Firefox or Chrome NOW!

  2. #32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tinuva View Post
    I think you guys don't need this anymore.
    Tested working without modification on Cybersmart (SAIX) Cool!

  3. #33
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Posts
    8,135
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Google Search works fine now without the modification on MWeb Business uncapped, but the other Google Services don't!

    Code:
    ping 165.165.38.147
    PING 165.165.38.147 (165.165.38.147) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 165.165.38.147: icmp_seq=1 ttl=56 time=88.1 ms
    
    ping mail.google.com
    PING googlemail.l.google.com (209.85.227.17) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from wy-in-f17.1e100.net (209.85.227.17): icmp_seq=1 ttl=52 time=319 ms

  4. #34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tpex View Post
    kaisterkai nobody is going to help you if you still use the piece of shyte, now install Firefox or Chrome NOW!
    I have Chrome like I said above... IE 8 was just there, so I just tried it while I was on there..
    Don't know what to say...

  5. #35

    Default

    clients1.google.co.za

    Used for the autocomplete on the search.

  6. #36
    The Magician Tinuva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Virgo Super Cluster
    Posts
    6,854

    Default

    gmail is the only thing that ive noticed not going to local automatically. though that will also come, be patient
    Few people can see the genius in someone who has offended them.
    - Robertson Davies

  7. #37

    Default

    Well i wait, but it says:


    Oops! Google Chrome could not connect to mail.google.com
    Did you mean: www. gmail. google. com/ mail
    Additional suggestions:
    Try reloading: mail. google. com/ mail/
    Go to google. com
    Search on Google:


    And weridly, my facebook goes on to logging screen, but it doesn't let me log on.. (Error after pressing enter... )
    Don't know what to say...

  8. #38
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Posts
    8,135
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Tinuva, could you perhaps give the DNS server's IP address that you're using and the ISP package?

    I'm not sure what the ISP's are doing, but I have like 80ms to www.google.com (when using the 155.232.240.19 IP address) and like 10ms to mail.google.com (when using 64.233.179.83 IP address) << When I'm using Stellenbosch University's proxy servers and Internet.
    A friend of mine had 1 - 2ms response time to www.google.com from the MediaLab's connection, which is also at Stellenbosch University.

    Update: kaisterkai, I have no idea what you're doing but you're definitely doing something wrong if you're the only one where this modification isn't working! When you ping one of those hostnames of the Google services, it should resolve to the local IP address. Perhaps you should provide us with your ISP package that you're using and also with the results of when you're trying to ping like mail.google.com, www.google.com, etc.
    Last edited by Pada; 25-06-2010 at 10:06 PM.

  9. #39
    The Magician Tinuva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Virgo Super Cluster
    Posts
    6,854

    Default

    Using the normal web africa dns servers. The 165. ip thats reported by the SAIX looking glass, have no idea which dns server it is using but I'd assume any SAIX DNS server for that.
    Few people can see the genius in someone who has offended them.
    - Robertson Davies

  10. #40

    Default

    can't connect with gmail on a local account (capped telkom 3gb) Firefox

  11. #41

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pada View Post
    Tinuva, could you perhaps give the DNS server's IP address that you're using and the ISP package?

    I'm not sure what the ISP's are doing, but I have like 80ms to www.google.com (when using the 155.232.240.19 IP address) and like 10ms to mail.google.com (when using 64.233.179.83 IP address) << When I'm using Stellenbosch University's proxy servers and Internet.
    A friend of mine had 1 - 2ms response time to www.google.com from the MediaLab's connection, which is also at Stellenbosch University.

    Update: kaisterkai, I have no idea what you're doing but you're definitely doing something wrong if you're the only one where this modification isn't working! When you ping one of those hostnames of the Google services, it should resolve to the local IP address. Perhaps you should provide us with your ISP package that you're using and also with the results of when you're trying to ping like mail.google.com, www.google.com, etc.

    Everything else works, it's just that gmail doesn't work.. but I see someone here also has the problem with Gmail...

    But I guess not having gmail isn't really such a big thing..

    Anyway, thanks for the help.. I'll see what I can upload ^ ^
    Don't know what to say...

  12. #42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaisterkai View Post
    Everything else works, it's just that gmail doesn't work.. but I see someone here also has the problem with Gmail...

    But I guess not having gmail isn't really such a big thing..

    Anyway, thanks for the help.. I'll see what I can upload ^ ^
    WTF!


    anyway it seems the problem is with any Google login ,seems the IP are not resolved for those, could somebody post them please?

  13. #43
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Posts
    8,135
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Add the following entries:
    Code:
    196.23.168.147 googlemail.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 www.gmail.com
    196.23.168.147 gmail.com
    If that doesn't fix your Gmail problem, then you should run the following command: ipconfig /flushdns
    Once you've done that, try to open Gmail again.
    Once you've tried to open Gmail, run: cmd /c ipconfig /displaydns & pause
    Then look for the IP address that it's using for Gmail.

    It could be that you have an antivirus/firewall application that's blocking those hosts file modificiations...

  14. #44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pada View Post
    Add the following entries:
    Code:
    196.23.168.147 googlemail.l.google.com
    196.23.168.147 www.gmail.com
    196.23.168.147 gmail.com
    If that doesn't fix your Gmail problem, then you should run the following command: ipconfig /flushdns
    Once you've done that, try to open Gmail again.
    Once you've tried to open Gmail, run: cmd /c ipconfig /displaydns & pause
    Then look for the IP address that it's using for Gmail.

    It could be that you have an antivirus/firewall application that's blocking those hosts file modificiations...
    entries fixed the problem Thanks a ton Pada

  15. #45
    Grandmaster DJNgoma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    Posts
    3,095

    Default

    Everything is working OTB, thanx Pada.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 21 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •