Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: Nokia 6680 network issue

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Amandasig, Pretoria
    Posts
    310

    Default Nokia 6680 network issue

    I'm experiencing an odd network issue with my 6680. It sometimes disconnects from the network. Although it shows that there is a signal sometimes a full strength signal it will not make or receive calls. If I dial a number the phone seems to make the call but there is no sound or error messages and it will abort the call after a while with no indication as to why the call failed.

    It won't receive incoming calls either. They are diverted to voice mail. The sending of SMS's or MMS's times out. It acts like a phone with no network coverage.

    The phone will continue like this until I restart it. The problem also seems to disappear when it switches to a different cell. My Ipaq 6340 doesn't do this.

    Has anyone experienced this?

  2. #2
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Posts
    5,451

    Default

    My 6680 is fine.
    Maybe try a different network's sim, otherwise have the firmware reloaded or upgraded.

  3. #3
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Plettenberg Bay
    Posts
    3,281

    Default

    there is a way to do a full reset of the phone urself, without having to pay sm1 to do it for you, where it completely reformats the memory makes it the way it was when it comes out of the box.

    All you have to do is power the phone off, press the green/talk key, the number 3 key, and the * (star), and power on the phone. Then release the keys when the formatting starts. Just make sure your battery is fully charged before you atempt this. And remember this completely formats the phone, all your contacts and and messeges, and app that you have installed after you got the phone will be deleted.

    If the problem is still there, i guess it would mean its the hardware itself, and that you should take it to nokia or vodacom to repair it.
    Last edited by nGAGEd55; 13-11-2005 at 10:36 PM.
    insomnia FTW!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Amandasig, Pretoria
    Posts
    310

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ajax
    My 6680 is fine.
    Maybe try a different network's sim, otherwise have the firmware reloaded or upgraded.
    What does *#0000# tell you?

  5. #5
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Posts
    5,451

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tallboy
    What does *#0000# tell you?
    The firmware version.
    Did you try the reset?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Amandasig, Pretoria
    Posts
    310

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ajax
    The firmware version.
    Did you try the reset?
    I know . I just wanted to know your firmware version. If yours is later than mine then upgrading the firmware might solve the problem.

    My theory is the phone might have a problem in areas where the signal is weak. It may not try to regain the connection if the signal picks up again. At home we've had consistent problems with cell phones breaking up (you know: "hello, hello can you hear me ... can you hear me know ... hello, hello, how about now ... is this better? ")

    Will try the reset. This is a real shame: I know of no other 3G smartphones on the market.

    "Nokia, (dis)connecting people"
    Last edited by Tallboy; 14-11-2005 at 08:40 AM.

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster LandyMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    9,536

    Default

    I have also had problems with my 6680 ... very similar in your line of problems. Firmware upgrade helped jack! Don't have it with me, so I can't check my firmware now. Have a look at my last posts in the 'Nokia 6680' thread ... it should be there.
    Vape Escape - For all your e-cigarette and vaping needs
    VapeHaven - Community driven vaping forum

  8. #8
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Posts
    5,451

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tallboy
    I know . I just wanted to know your firmware version.
    Sorreee! Ok mine is 3.04.37 01-06-05 RM-36

    Could it be that the phone is switching between 3G and GSM all the time? You could try switching off 3G in the tools, settings, network menu.

  9. #9

    Default

    I have the same problem exactly and sorry to say but i am not sure their is a fix.

    First time Nokia did a software upgrade. Second and third time they did a software upgrade as well (dont ask me how). They they started replacing RF IC's, so far they have still not got it right and it still does the same thing.

    My theory is that when there is low signal or changing between gsm and 3G it loses the connection (as normal when there is no coverage) but it does not regain it, even though the signal strength meter shows it.

    You could try setting the phone to only work on gsm (as opposed to dual mode), which may help, but then doesnt allow you to use 3g services.

  10. #10
    Vodacom Representative
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    (mostly) Plattekloof, Cape Town
    Posts
    12,066

    Default

    I'm on 2.04.15 and get the same symptoms. Every now and then, (I'd guess about once a week), I'll realise my phone's been quiet for a while. A reboot later I'm flooded with SMS's, MMS's and missed calls.

    The pragmatic view is; if you want smartphone capabilities you're going to have to live with instability in the phone OS, it's just the nature of complex software systems.

    I've had these problems with every Symbian 60 and MS mobile phone I've had. If I want reliable comms and decent battery life, I dig out my old Nokia 6310i.....

    In general though, I accept the gremlins in chance for some lekker functionality. Got my hands on a JasJar yesterday.....probably will give the worst stability/performance ratio yet

    I'll check which is the latest 6680 firmware revision.

  11. #11

    Default 3G smart phones

    Quote Originally Posted by Tallboy
    I know . I just wanted to know your firmware version. If yours is later than mine then upgrading the firmware might solve the problem.

    My theory is the phone might have a problem in areas where the signal is weak. It may not try to regain the connection if the signal picks up again. At home we've had consistent problems with cell phones breaking up (you know: "hello, hello can you hear me ... can you hear me know ... hello, hello, how about now ... is this better? ")

    Will try the reset. This is a real shame: I know of no other 3G smartphones on the market.

    "Nokia, (dis)connecting people"
    Nokia have some new makes commimng out but lets take a venture out the nokia zone. Sonyericcson are launching a new p990 3g smart phone really a stunner or you could take out a bond for the new Imate jam jar nokia seem to be baseing there new models on fashion an even there new e61 smart phone looks a little like the black berry sony ericsson mix Vodacom3g any idea when they may be launching the P990
    Im a Voda Junkie How can i help you

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Amandasig, Pretoria
    Posts
    310

    Default

    Well my phone is now in the hands of a dedicated team of highly skilled Vodashop techies.

    I've learned (grudgingly) to live with the problems that I've experienced with cellphones. However this one really got me. It happens at least three times a week. I might as well be carrying a pile of doggy poo in my pocket.

  13. #13
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Posts
    5,451

    Default

    The Nokia 6630/6680 have some great attributes that's worth sticking it out with them, i.e. the fact that they do EDGE and 3G and the fact that you can choose/lock your phone to a specific tower with the netmonitor menu. I would not have been able to use EDGE if it weren't for the netmonitor menu, but then again, I am quite the geek

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Amandasig, Pretoria
    Posts
    310

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ajax
    The Nokia 6630/6680 have some great attributes that's worth sticking it out with them, i.e. the fact that they do EDGE and 3G and the fact that you can choose/lock your phone to a specific tower with the netmonitor menu. I would not have been able to use EDGE if it weren't for the netmonitor menu, but then again, I am quite the geek
    The only point I'm trying to make is that all these bells and whistles are nice but at the end of the day the main purpose of a cellphone is to be in contact with the rest of the world wherever you are.

  15. #15
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Posts
    5,451

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tallboy
    The only point I'm trying to make is that all these bells and whistles are nice but at the end of the day the main purpose of a cellphone is to be in contact with the rest of the world wherever you are.
    Granted, I also still have my 6310i. Its such a pity Nokia didn't just add EDGE and 3G to that phone and make a 6410i or something. No real need for color screens and all the extras. Just a good phone with good connectivity and awesome standby.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •