Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: Home PC Support

  1. #1
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    2,103

    Default Home PC Support

    Do you guys know any company / person that does support for a pc on call out?

    Jhb / West Rand

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,190

    Default

    What do you need to be done?
    I killed my sig to save on bandwidth.

  3. #3
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    2,103

    Default

    I get a BSoD (0x00000050) to do with a device driver. It reboots about six times then do a disc scan / check and then i get into the desktop. It then tells me the registry recovered from a copy. Then the normal xp error report starts and pops up screen from Microsoft stating it is a device driver. I have reinstalled xp on a new hdd and that is where my problems started. I have actually now reinstalled it approx. 7 times. I have done all the updates from microsoft, etc. It is with the basic hardware and graphics card. I haven't done the sound card yet.

    If it is on then i can reboot as many times it will work. It is then only when the computer is off for a while that it happens again.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Steenberg, Cape Town
    Posts
    2,149

    Default

    i do i support the east rand mostly but i`m sure myself or my partner can make a trip out to the west
    There are 10 types of ppl in the world those who understand binary and those who dnt ......

  5. #5

    Default

    What drivers do you have installed ?

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PearlJam
    I get a BSoD (0x00000050) to do with a device driver.
    Using my awesome mental ESP powers I thereby deduce that the internal mapping table in the fluxom decoder chip of your motherboard is broken.

    Sorted ... R400 consultation fee please.

    If you want decent help PearlJam then give us decent information.

    Write down EVERYTHING that Windows tells you when it does a BSoD and repost it here.

  7. #7
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    2,103

    Default

    Thanks guys,

    page_fault_in_nonpaged_area

    The error code in the BSoD is: 0x00000050 (0xc9b01868, 0x00000000, 0x8056e2f4, 0x00000000)

    My system is as follows:

    Intel 865Perl MB
    Pentium4 2.8 ghz
    Seagate 200mb HDD
    1gb Ram
    Windows XP Home

    Other errors in the event log is as follows:

    Error code 00000051, parameter1 00000004, parameter2 00000001, parameter3 e39386c8, parameter4 00ff01e0.

    The ScRegSetValueExW call failed for Start with the following error:
    Access is denied.

    The time service has not been able to synchronize the system time for 49152 seconds because none of the time providers has been able to provide a usable time stamp. The system clock is unsynchronized.

    The IP address lease 10.0.0.100 for the Network Card with network address 0011118CB648 has been denied by the DHCP server 10.0.0.2 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).

    Error code 10000050, parameter1 c9a01868, parameter2 00000000, parameter3 8056e2f4, parameter4 00000000.

    Error code 1000008e, parameter1 c000001d, parameter2 bf8240e0, parameter3 ba20aabc, parameter4 00000000.

    Error code 1000000a, parameter1 c0ffec8c, parameter2 00000001, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 804e70d5.

    The SPBBCSvc service terminated with service-specific error 4294967295 (0xFFFFFFFF).

    Time Provider NtpClient: An error occurred during DNS lookup of the manually configured peer 'time.windows.com,0x1'. NtpClient will try the DNS lookup again in 30 minutes. The error was: A socket operation was attempted to an unreachable host. (0x80072751)

    I am fairly new to this, therefor i am not sure what to post here.

    Thanks

  8. #8

    Default

    Run this one your system and tell me what it comes back with.
    http://www.memtest.org/

  9. #9
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    2,103

    Default

    Person,

    This is the info from that memtest screen:

    Pentium 4 (0.09) 2793Mhz
    L1 cache: 16k 17135MB/s
    L2 cache: 1024k 17135MB/s
    Memory: 1022M 2182MB/s
    Chipset: Intel i848/ i865

    FSB: 133Mhz ECC disabled PAT enabled
    RAM: 166Mhz (DDR332) / CAS: 2.5-4-4-7 / dual channel 128 bits

    Cached: 1022M
    Rsvdmem: 1572k
    Memmap: e820-std
    Cache: On
    Ecc: Off
    Test: Std
    Pass: 2
    Errors: 0

    Thanks

  10. #10

    Default

    0x00000050: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA

    Requested data was not in memory. An invalid system memory address was referenced. Defective memory (including main memory, L2 RAM cache, video RAM) or incompatible software (including remote control and antivirus software) might cause this Stop message, as may other hardware problems (e.g., incorrect SCSI termination or a flawed PCI card).

    Replace Memory, see if that fixes it..

    try removing all PCI cards

    Get a new motherboard
    As water reflects the face, so one's life reflects the heart

  11. #11
    As water reflects the face, so one's life reflects the heart

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PearlJam
    Person,

    This is the info from that memtest screen:

    Pentium 4 (0.09) 2793Mhz
    L1 cache: 16k 17135MB/s
    L2 cache: 1024k 17135MB/s
    Memory: 1022M 2182MB/s
    Chipset: Intel i848/ i865

    FSB: 133Mhz ECC disabled PAT enabled
    RAM: 166Mhz (DDR332) / CAS: 2.5-4-4-7 / dual channel 128 bits

    Cached: 1022M
    Rsvdmem: 1572k
    Memmap: e820-std
    Cache: On
    Ecc: Off
    Test: Std
    Pass: 2
    Errors: 0

    Thanks
    Right its not your RAM thats giving you the problem. Its now one of two things. Either your GFX card or your CPU. I'll find some tests for you to run.

  13. #13
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    2,103

    Default

    Thanks for all the help.

    The thing that puzzles me is the fact that all the hardware that i had on worked flawlessly untill I bought a new hdd (old: WD 40gb - new: Seagate 200gb) and replaced my previous c drive with the new one and did a clean install of xp. Everything else stayed the same. Therefor the drivers that i used was fine. Can a motherboard or memory suffer damage in some waywhen doing what i have done? Why does it work properly after i manage to get to the desktop and then reboots normally?

    Andrew, i have two 512mb memory cards. Will it work if i use one and then try the other one, or is it possible that both could be faulty?

    Thanks

  14. #14

    Default

    Did you check ur master slave connections?

  15. #15

    Default

    Yes try swapping the RAM modules, try one then the other.


    Try booting up in safe mode, press F8 when Windows loads.

    Let me know if it boots into safe mode.
    As water reflects the face, so one's life reflects the heart

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •