You should join our great online community now - you can win great prizes
Register now
You should subscribe to our free MyBroadband newsletter


+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst 12345678 14 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 239

Thread: gr8signal - help to measure SA's mobile networks

  1. #46
    Super Grandmaster marine1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    A black hole in the universe - JHB
    Posts
    44,465

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gr8signal View Post
    Hi marine1

    Sorry not totally sure if I understood the question correctly.

    The signal strength is independent of what connection type your using. If I understand correctly android reports on the capability advertised by the tower and what its allowed to use(If you say only edge it will only report that) and that's what we'll record.

    When you disable data you are more telling your phone not connect to the data network but it can still see it.

    This is what testing seem to indicate.

    Though this may differ from phone to phone. For instance some phones only report bars, some only dBm and some both.

    Hope I've answered the question you asked.
    Excellent thats exactly what was asked and you answered it 100%.
    Thanks
    Will be uploading as often as humanly possible.
    #FREEISRAEL

  2. #47

    Default

    Great idea and awesome app.

    My perception of my signal strength at home is that it depends a lot on the time of day. How is this handled by the app/site? If it shows a green patch at a specific location-service provider point, I assume this is just the average of all inputs received. It would be interesting to see how this changes for peak and off-peak period. Maybe a 'time of day' filter on the map, similar to Google Maps's traffic filter.

  3. #48

    Default

    Gr8 stuff!
    I'll be installing this later.
    So just to clarify, the app logs signal strength all the time, presumably as you connect to different cell towers etc. Then, when you connect to wifi it uploads all the logs?
    Hence, keeping my data connection off most of the time won't affect it, right?
    <profound><witty> One Liner </profound></witty>

  4. #49
    Super Grandmaster marine1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    A black hole in the universe - JHB
    Posts
    44,465

    Default

    What seems to be happening all over, well so far at least, on Vodacom, signal is anything but stable, percentages fluctuate from 15% - up to 100%.
    It happens literally a few meters away.
    So you would be on 100% then drive a few meters down the road and it drops to 20%.
    Interesting how the signal is not stable at all, this is in Douglasdale, Fourways area.

    I have uploaded the stats.
    #FREEISRAEL

  5. #50
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Mama Randburg, middle of everywhere
    Posts
    5,701

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gr8signal View Post
    Once registration is done and you've logged in you'll now have a "My Data" link available on the top right. Once you've clicked on that it will take you to where you can get your tracking id to paste into your phone under settings.

    Once you've logged some data with the tracking ID you can download it from the same location.
    Okay thanks, having gotten over my PICNIC error I'm registered and set to go - in turbo mode, FWIW. So now, I'll get data only post-reg, yes?

  6. #51
    Super Grandmaster marine1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    A black hole in the universe - JHB
    Posts
    44,465

    Default

    I doubt the networks will be too happy about this.
    #FREEISRAEL

  7. #52
    King of de Jungle LazyLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    District 9
    Posts
    96,921
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    I've had it installed since the MyBB conference, but I'm not sure what it is supposed to be doing.
    Quote Originally Posted by Swa View Post
    It's ignorant to think that reason and science necessarily leads to progress.

  8. #53
    Super Grandmaster marine1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    A black hole in the universe - JHB
    Posts
    44,465

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garyvdh View Post
    I've had it installed since the MyBB conference, but I'm not sure what it is supposed to be doing.
    As I understand it, you use it, hit upload and it logs on the map, quality of the network you are on etc.
    Then you go onto the map and you can actually see REAL stats and quality of the networks and not rely on their rubbish advertising
    #FREEISRAEL

  9. #54
    King of de Jungle LazyLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    District 9
    Posts
    96,921
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    OK, I can see my signals around my house (which look pretty weak), but I can't see any signals uploaded around my office.
    Quote Originally Posted by Swa View Post
    It's ignorant to think that reason and science necessarily leads to progress.

  10. #55
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Mama Randburg, middle of everywhere
    Posts
    5,701

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marine1 View Post
    I doubt the networks will be too happy about this.
    TFB, it's not like they care about responding to us, telling us the truth or, you know, giving more than a flying duck about us beyond billing.

  11. #56

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Borrels View Post
    Great idea and awesome app.

    My perception of my signal strength at home is that it depends a lot on the time of day. How is this handled by the app/site? If it shows a green patch at a specific location-service provider point, I assume this is just the average of all inputs received. It would be interesting to see how this changes for peak and off-peak period. Maybe a 'time of day' filter on the map, similar to Google Maps's traffic filter.
    Hi Borrels

    The application when not in turbo mode logs signal every 5 minutes and then attempts to upload every 15.

    When in turbo mode it will also log on tower change (In future versions this will change to x meters moved when in turbo mode).

    So it should get the signal variation through the day. Currently we are only plotting average while the the map get's filled in.

    We are planning on showing more map variations as time goes buy to try give more relevant information.

    I know the team is hoping to release the tower layer later today.

  12. #57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K3NS31 View Post
    Gr8 stuff!
    I'll be installing this later.
    So just to clarify, the app logs signal strength all the time, presumably as you connect to different cell towers etc. Then, when you connect to wifi it uploads all the logs?
    Hence, keeping my data connection off most of the time won't affect it, right?
    Hi Borrels

    Yes keeping your data connection off should have no effect on the logging.

    The logging is a mixture of tower change and time depending if in turbo mode or not.

  13. #58
    Resident Lead Bender Ockie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Henceforth AKA OckieMoto :-)
    Posts
    45,177

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gr8signal View Post
    I know the team is hoping to release the tower layer later today.
    Tower layer? What is that? To show where the towers are and who the tower belongs to?
    APoc184 - "Well apparently I'm Ockie's kinda girl."

  14. #59

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marine1 View Post
    What seems to be happening all over, well so far at least, on Vodacom, signal is anything but stable, percentages fluctuate from 15% - up to 100%.
    It happens literally a few meters away.
    So you would be on 100% then drive a few meters down the road and it drops to 20%.
    Interesting how the signal is not stable at all, this is in Douglasdale, Fourways area.

    I have uploaded the stats.
    Hi marine1

    Yes I know some of the people in the office have started using it to wonder round with the app open to find the best signal before making a call when in a bad signal area.

    It interesting to see which spots in the office have better signal and which have bad.

  15. #60

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bdt View Post
    Okay thanks, having gotten over my PICNIC error I'm registered and set to go - in turbo mode, FWIW. So now, I'll get data only post-reg, yes?
    Yes we will only show logs from the point where you put the tracking id in. It was the best idea we could come up with to try and reduce privacy issues.

    Also if you remove the tracking id logs from then till you put it back in won't appear.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst 12345678 14 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Mobile Networks in Africa
    By F1 Fan in forum Cellular: Mobile Phones, Call Contracts, Content, MMS and SMS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 04:00 PM
  2. Replies: 60
    Last Post: 22-03-2011, 10:21 PM
  3. Virtual Mobile Networks
    By rpm in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-09-2009, 12:01 AM
  4. Porn straining mobile networks
    By rpm in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 09-07-2009, 12:04 PM
  5. SA's mobile networks far cheaper and practical than UK
    By Frankie in forum Cellular: Mobile Phones, Call Contracts, Content, MMS and SMS
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-07-2008, 02:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •