Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: E3131 in Linux

  1. #1

    Default E3131 in Linux

    ginggs - I'm putting together a simple script to monitor my E3131 under linux. I've got the RSSI and SNR part sorted out, but I have no clue how to get the RAT. Could you let me know here or with a PM what AT commands I should be looking at? Ideally I'd like to know what band I'm on as well as what technology - I.e. 2g/3g/hspa (if those are even the right options).

    I'm pretty lost - it has taken me ages just to figure out the RSSI and SNR...

  2. #2
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,641

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rsd View Post
    ginggs - I'm putting together a simple script to monitor my E3131 under linux. I've got the RSSI and SNR part sorted out, but I have no clue how to get the RAT. Could you let me know here or with a PM what AT commands I should be looking at? Ideally I'd like to know what band I'm on as well as what technology - I.e. 2g/3g/hspa (if those are even the right options).

    I'm pretty lost - it has taken me ages just to figure out the RSSI and SNR...
    I haven't had the chance to play with an E3131 yet. Is yours a HiLink version or not?
    Try AT^SYSINFO and AT^SYSINFOEX. If your modem supports AT^SYSINFOEX, then rather use that.

    Please help fill in the table here.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    I haven't had the chance to play with an E3131 yet. Is yours a HiLink version or not?
    Try AT^SYSINFO and AT^SYSINFOEX. If your modem supports AT^SYSINFOEX, then rather use that.

    Please help fill in the table here.
    Thanks for the help! IT does support sysinfoex. Here are the results of all of the commands in the table - hope it helps:

    NOTE - I'm not running the firmware that ships with the E3131. I upgraded it to Revision: 21.158.00.00.1020
    Code:
    AT^CSNR?
    ^CSNR: -86,-7
    
    AT^NDISDUP=?
    ^NDISDUP:(1-11),(0-1)
    
    AT^SYSINFOEX
    ^SYSINFOEX:2,3,0,1,,3,WCDMA,41,WCDMA
    
    AT^SYSCFGEX?
    COMMAND NOT SUPPORT
    AT^SYSCFGEX=?
    COMMAND NOT SUPPORT
    AT^SYSCFGEX
    COMMAND NOT SUPPORT
    
    AT^DIALMODE=?
    ^DIALMODE: (0-2),(0-255)

  4. #4
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,641

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rsd View Post
    Thanks for the help! IT does support sysinfoex. Here are the results of all of the commands in the table - hope it helps:

    NOTE - I'm not running the firmware that ships with the E3131. I upgraded it to Revision: 21.158.00.00.1020
    Thanks. So that's a non-HiLink firmware then?

    I think only LTE modems support AT^SYSCFGEX for the extra LTE bands, yours should support AT^SYSCFG.

    Can you post the result of AT^DIALMODE? (i.e. without the =) please?

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    Thanks. So that's a non-HiLink firmware then?

    I think only LTE modems support AT^SYSCFGEX for the extra LTE bands, yours should support AT^SYSCFG.

    Can you post the result of AT^DIALMODE? (i.e. without the =) please?
    DIALMODE:2,2

    Which is interesting. I'm currently dialing up using PPP - does this mean I can use NDIS rather? If so, do you know what AT commands I would need to use to establish the connection? I have added the APN with +CGDCONT already, but no clue if I did it correctly...

  6. #6
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,641

    Default

    Is your firmware 21.158.00.00.1020 a HiLink version?

  7. #7

    Default

    I honestly have no idea - I'm not sure how to tell.

    I have wwan0 if I run ifconfig though.

    Code:
    AT^NDISDUP=1,1,"internet"
    OK
    It says ok, but appears to do absolutely nothing.

  8. #8
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,641

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rsd View Post
    I honestly have no idea - I'm not sure how to tell.
    On Windows it's easy enough, when you insert the modem your browser will open on the webpage http://192.168.1.1/ , but seeing that you already have serial communications open with the device, then I'm guessing it's not the HiLink version.
    There's a thread all about HiLink modems here.
    Quote Originally Posted by rsd View Post
    I have wwan0 if I run ifconfig though.

    Code:
    AT^NDISDUP=1,1,"internet"
    OK
    It says ok, but appears to do absolutely nothing.
    This is what I do to bring up a connection on my E3276:

    Send AT^NDISDUP=1,1 (you don't need to send the APN if you have already set up the CGD context)
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig wwan0 up
    sudo dhclient wwan0
    Io disconnect:
    Send AT^NDISDUP=1,0
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig wwan0 down
    Last edited by ginggs; 22-08-2013 at 10:50 PM.

  9. #9

    Default

    If you only want to determine the chipset used, you only have to issue: ati .
    This should show you two things. The model and firmware revision. If the model name (or FCCID) contains a "u" in it, it is a Qualcomm based modem, if it is an "s" it is a HiSilicon. Similarly, if the FW revision starts with an "11" it is Qualcomm and if it starts with "21" its a HiSilicon (AFAICR)...

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Huawei HiLink modems (E303, E3131, etc.)
    By brucem in forum Mobile Broadband
    Replies: 145
    Last Post: 07-09-2016, 07:21 PM
  2. 8ta sim 10 Gig + 10 Gig, MTN Dongle E3131, Router Tenda 3G622R+ Not connecting
    By edge1970 in forum Telkom Mobile (8ta) Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-07-2013, 09:36 AM
  3. Huawei E3131
    By MervynB in forum Telkom Mobile (8ta) Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-05-2013, 11:05 AM
  4. Huawei E3131 installation on Ubuntu 11.04
    By reneg8or in forum Linux
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27-04-2013, 04:27 PM
  5. HUAWEI E367 vs E3131
    By tniland in forum Cellular: Mobile Phones, Call Contracts, Content, MMS and SMS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22-11-2012, 08:50 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •