Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Block access to certain sites when using 3g dongle when ADSL is down

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Block access to certain sites when using 3g dongle when ADSL is down

    Hi all,
    I am wondering if anyone knows of a way to block access to certain websites when using a 3G dongle but not block anything when using ADSL.

    The logic is: I have a Point of Sale system that runs off a website and when normal broadband is working everything is hunky dory - but when ADSL goes down, which has been happening a lot for me recently I am pretty stuck without access to my POS. A 3G dongle as a backup is great but I want to be able to block staff from using youtube etc when using the dongle otherwise I'm going to end up with a hefty data bill - in summary reserve 3g use for accessing my POS site only pretty much.

    I have a linksys router running DDWRT but not sure how to put PC based restrictions in place when using the USB dongle???

    Thanks...

  2. #2
    Super Grandmaster DrJohnZoidberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Table View
    Posts
    20,191
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You should be able to assign a new firewall zone to the 3G interface then block all traffic except those that the POS system uses.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zolani99 View Post
    The atheists won't be forced to bow their heads, they can just imagine themselves burning in hell.

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    aha, as in Windows firewall settings?

  4. #4
    Super Grandmaster DrJohnZoidberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Table View
    Posts
    20,191
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by southafricanrob View Post
    aha, as in Windows firewall settings?
    No, on the router.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zolani99 View Post
    The atheists won't be forced to bow their heads, they can just imagine themselves burning in hell.

  5. #5
    Grandmaster Tander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    4,596
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    As DrJohnZoiberg pointed out - if the router can use a 3G dongle for Internet - on the router you could setup firewall zone for that device and block sites using that connection.

    What's the model of the router you have?

  6. #6
    Active Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi, its a Linksys WRT54GL running DDDwrt - problem is the dongle will go straight into the PC in question, loads of other people are still connecting to the router and dont want them using the dongle. Although I suppose if the dongle is blocked to all other sites then shouldn't be a problem, dont think that router supports usb dongles though....

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    JHB
    Posts
    10,975
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you share dongle connection on PC, then the easiest way is to block traffic on PC. I think DrJohnZoidberg assumed that dongle is on the router.

  8. #8
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,970
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by southafricanrob View Post
    Hi, its a Linksys WRT54GL running DDDwrt - problem is the dongle will go straight into the PC in question,
    Seeing the modem is going straight onto the PC in question it actually makes it quite easy.
    You can disable the setting in the modem's dial-up connection to use it as the default gateway, so all traffic will default to going through your router.
    You can then make a static route for your POS site to use the dial-up connection.

  9. #9
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Mama Randburg, middle of everywhere
    Posts
    6,424
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Given the extreme programmability that Mikrotik boxen have, could an RB750UP (with a single-port adsl device in bridge mode to take care of the line side) be used here?

  10. #10
    Active Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks guys - will explore the options mentioned above - have also heard great things about the routerboards

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Program to block Porn sites
    By NomNom in forum Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19-10-2012, 03:00 PM
  2. Would MWEB really block access to sites???
    By Savvoh in forum ADSL and VDSL ISP Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16-05-2012, 05:25 PM
  3. Can't access any UCT sites from telkom ADSL
    By JohnsonCT in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26-01-2010, 05:37 PM
  4. Cairo to block porn sites
    By rpm in forum News and Current Affairs
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13-05-2009, 08:44 PM
  5. Why do Telkom-Internet block certain sites ?
    By Moto Guzzi in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-11-2007, 04:22 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •