Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 88 of 88 FirstFirst ... 38788485868788
Results 1,306 to 1,320 of 1320

Thread: MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]

  1. #1306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    What do you see in Device Manager? e.g.


    If the modem has a control interface on a serial (COM) port, you can try specifying the port on the command line, e.g. MDMA /port:COM11
    Unfortunately not...

    [I am unable/barred from uploading images] So if I can describe my list of COM ports:
    1. ECP Printer Port (LPT1)
    2. RIM Virtual Serial Port v2 (COM4)
    3. RIM Virtual Serial Port v2 (COM5)

    So, no COM ports, no cigar...?

  2. #1307

    Default

    How can i use MDMA with my 4g vodafone mode cause it deosnt bseem to support lte only options are edge and 3g?
    Last edited by jintong11; 03-03-2016 at 06:26 PM.

  3. #1308

    Default

    @ginggs

    Hi ginggs,

    I am posting on this thread as I am hoping that you may be able to advise me concerning the switching between HSPA+ Only and 3G Only modes. I am not sure if your software or any other software is capable of allowing this.

    My Provider and Package deal:
    -----------------------------
    I purchased Cell C LTE 100GB for R999.00 prepaid deal.

    I do not have LTE coverage, but I do have full 3G coverage.

    My Modems:
    -----------
    I am using Cell C's E1820 and have also tried the E367 HSPA+ Modem

    What I want or think I need:
    ---------------------------
    I am looking for software that can allow me to force HSPA+ only and not 3G, because the constant automatic switching between HSPA+ and 3G appears to be causing my internet connection to go to sleep. One minute I am surfing the web at good Mbps on HSPA+, next minute I can be sitting at 2kbps on 3G and a connection that is as dead as a doornail.

    Do you know if it is at all possible to force HSPA+ only?


    Troubleshooting (Some of the things I have tried):
    ------------------------------------------------
    Vodacom, MTN and Cell C provide me with excellent 3G signal strength. Vodacom and MTN internet surfing sessions are not intermittent. I notice that the moment my Cell C connection switches to HSPA+ then my internet activities resume and all is well for a a minute or two until it switches back to 3G.

    The intermittent Cell C situation persists even though I have tried to solve the problem via these different methods:
    - Cell C dashboard (have updated firmware and dashboard),
    - Tried MTN Dashboard,
    - Tried Generic Huawei Mobile Partner Dashboard,
    - Using Cell C's E1820 Modem
    - Tried E367 HSPA+ Modem
    - Tried Different computers
    - Tried Different operating systems

    My Cell C 3G and HSPA+ signal strengths average 97% to 99% and they never dip below 90%, irrespective of the weather.

    Conclusion:
    -----------

    1) Is it even possible to switch between HSPA+ Only and 3G Only modes? If so, please would you be so kind as advise me on how to accomplish this?

    2) In your experience, is there any technical terminology that I can use to describe the likely cause of this problem to Cell C, with the intention of actually achieving a resolution to the matter, without Cell C first assuming that the problem is on my side (client side)?

    Your advice would be very much appreciated.

    Thank you.

  4. #1309
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrleroux View Post
    the constant automatic switching between HSPA+ and 3G appears to be causing my internet connection to go to sleep
    I think it is the other way around. The modem only shows HSPA when it is sending or receiving data. When the connection is idle, the modem will show 3G.
    So your connection first "goes to sleep" (you stop receiving packets) and then your modem shows 3G.
    Quote Originally Posted by mrleroux View Post
    1) Is it even possible to switch between HSPA+ Only and 3G Only modes? If so, please would you be so kind as advise me on how to accomplish this?
    I don't believe so.
    Quote Originally Posted by mrleroux View Post
    2) In your experience, is there any technical terminology that I can use to describe the likely cause of this problem to Cell C, with the intention of actually achieving a resolution to the matter, without Cell C first assuming that the problem is on my side (client side)?
    A congested base station would probably show the symptoms you describe.
    Quote Originally Posted by mrleroux View Post
    Do you know if it is at all possible to force HSPA+ only?
    Some people have posted here about 'HSPA locker' software which constantly sends data to prevent the connection from becoming idle (and therefore from showing 3G).
    The same can presumably be achieved with the 'ping' command. I don't know if this can help if the base station is congested.
    Last edited by ginggs; 04-06-2016 at 02:40 PM.

  5. #1310
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    JHB
    Posts
    10,014

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrleroux View Post
    I do not have LTE coverage, but I do have full 3G coverage.
    There are applications to keep high speed channels (HSPA+) alive see above. It costs additional traffic.

    Some questions not related to this thread. If you reply, please post in a new thread.

    1. Did you check actual LTE coverage with LTE device?
    2. If you did check indeed, please describe your SIM CARD: black. black with micro cut, or blue with micro and nano cut and printed "USIM". The first one is not LTE compatible. There are still old GIGA packages avalable, it is important.
    3. If LTE is not enabled in your area indeed, please post in Cell C section your ping times when iddle, it might be a topic for Cell C rep.

  6. #1311
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by j4ck455 View Post
    @ginggs, your domain appears to be down:

    http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/nerve.org.za
    Thanks, I checked just after you posted and it was down, but it is back again this morning.

  7. #1312

    Default

    Hello,
    is it device dependent seeing values like CID or SNR without being registered to a network? For instance my Huawei r2015 will only show rat and RSSI.

  8. #1313
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -sandro- View Post
    is it device dependent seeing values like CID or SNR without being registered to a network? For instance my Huawei r2015 will only show rat and RSSI.
    I think it is device dependent and firmware revision dependent.

    I know Vodacom tried hard to get Huawei to change the firmware to prevent their modems from showing you had an MTN signal when it couldn't find a Vodacom one.

  9. #1314

    Default

    Hi,

    I know it has been a long time since the last post but I wanted to ask a question about compatibility of huawei modems. I am going to buy a Huawei Mifi device specifically to use MDMA with it so that I can send USSD codes (otherwise not possible from what I've read) and wanted to make sure I choose one that is compatible with this software. so far I am looking at either the Huawei E5577S ( https://www.amazon.co.uk/Huawei-E557...dp/B01BHT39ZK/ ) or the E5770s ( https://www.amazon.co.uk/Huawei-E577...dp/B014RA2QE6/ ) - are either/both of these compatible?

    Thank you

  10. #1315
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nish81 View Post
    I know it has been a long time since the last post but I wanted to ask a question about compatibility of huawei modems. I am going to buy a Huawei Mifi device specifically to use MDMA with it so that I can send USSD codes (otherwise not possible from what I've read) and wanted to make sure I choose one that is compatible with this software. so far I am looking at either the Huawei E5577S ( https://www.amazon.co.uk/Huawei-E557...dp/B01BHT39ZK/ ) or the E5770s ( https://www.amazon.co.uk/Huawei-E577...dp/B014RA2QE6/ ) - are either/both of these compatible?
    A while ago, someone asked about the E5577, but I never heard back from them about whether it worked.
    It doesn't only depend on the device, it also depends on the fimware; some firmwares expose the serial communications ports required by MDMA, others don't.

  11. #1316

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    A while ago, someone asked about the E5577, but I never heard back from them about whether it worked.
    It doesn't only depend on the device, it also depends on the fimware; some firmwares expose the serial communications ports required by MDMA, others don't.
    I see, thanks. I went for the E5770s-320 but when I plug it in and run MDMA it does not detect the modem. I checked device manager and I can't see any COM devices. It didn't appear to install any drivers when I plugged it in for the first time either - just went straight to the web interface. Any idea what I can do here?

  12. #1317
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nish81 View Post
    I see, thanks. I went for the E5770s-320 but when I plug it in and run MDMA it does not detect the modem. I checked device manager and I can't see any COM devices. It didn't appear to install any drivers when I plugged it in for the first time either - just went straight to the web interface. Any idea what I can do here?
    Try looking for a firmware that enables the serial ports.

  13. #1318

  14. #1319
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DTBA View Post
    Is the download page dead for anybody else?
    Dead for everybody. Temporary download location on Google Drive.

  15. #1320

+ Reply to Thread
Page 88 of 88 FirstFirst ... 38788485868788

Similar Threads

  1. MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]
    By ginggs in forum Cellular: Mobile Phones, Call Contracts, Content, MMS and SMS
    Replies: 912
    Last Post: 20-11-2010, 05:38 PM
  2. MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]
    By ginggs in forum MTN Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, HSUPA, 3G, EDGE and BIS
    Replies: 912
    Last Post: 20-11-2010, 05:38 PM
  3. MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]
    By ginggs in forum Cell C Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 912
    Last Post: 20-11-2010, 05:38 PM
  4. Replies: 355
    Last Post: 19-02-2008, 02:14 PM
  5. Replies: 355
    Last Post: 19-02-2008, 02:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •