Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 88 123451151 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 1320

Thread: MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]

  1. #1
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,736

    Default MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]

    I wrote this software to show more information than the provided dashboard. Specifically I was looking for cell info (Cellular Broadcast Messages), signal strength (in more detail than 5 graphical bars) and to distinguish between GPRS, EDGE, 3G and HSDPA.

    I only intended this program to be a companion to the provided dashboard software, but it has now grown to the point where it has its own data counters and the ability to connect and disconnect from the internet. You can decide whether you want to use it for occasionally checking your connection or whether you want to use it for keeping track of your internet usage.

    Name:  mdma_mini.png
Views: 51639
Size:  19.9 KB

    Has been tested on Windows XP, Windows Vista , Windows 7 (32 and 64-bit), Windows 8 and Windows Server 2003 and 2008. It should work on Windows 2000 as well.

    Currently supports most Huawei, Option, Novatel, Sierra Wireless, ZTE and LongCheer 3G/WCDMA/UMTS modems.
    Other modems using the standard AT command set should work too, but functionality will be limited to signal strength, cell IDs and USSD.
    Nokia phones are also supported, but functionality is very limited as MDMA can only be used when the phone is not online.
    MDMA needs at least one serial (COM) port in order to communicate with the modem, as per screenshot here. Modems with HiLink and other so-called "driverless" firmwares do not provide the required port. In most cases your device can be flashed with a regular firmware.

    Please download the program here.
    View documentation and compatibility matrix.
    Temporary download location on Google Drive.

    Checksums-Md5:
    829c3d94004fd10b52c3562910fe0aa7 135168 mdma.exe
    d7710f64a392cfbf1d5931af6b509b79 11225 readme.txt
    Checksums-Sha1:
    4c7e080e520f30c1b26d8ab73aff7072941ccebc 135168 mdma.exe
    3b36a8afa831f3411be2a6c0320cfd4548ba2b3e 11225 readme.txt
    Checksums-Sha256:
    fde8f1b05b3d294165fec26c30b3a2b264a2c67628a6fbf759 70f57f858c2629 135168 mdma.exe
    a05765c40e14e566e3162d90a1a7fc999507f320506fbcae11 187e2d4c6d6c8a 11225 readme.txt

    I'll edit the first page in this thread for announcements etc.

    Notes:
    MDMA 1.0.0.31 Beta discussion here (closed)
    MDMD 1.1.0.1 Beta discussion here (closed)

    FAQ:
    How to disable the modem's drive letter or disable autorun
    How to use startup command line switches (See Method #2)
    How to create a copy of a dial-up networking connection
    Capabilities of some Huawei modems
    How to switch Huawei E303 to modem mode (Windows)
    My anti-virus reports mdma.exe is a virus / contains malware
    Does MDMA work on WINE?
    Using NDIS instead of RAS (Windows tips & tricks)

    Support:
    Community support is available in this thread. Please do not PM me asking for help.

    Changelog:
    1.1.0.3 (2015/11/03):
    • Add Huawei LTE band 5 (850MHz FDD) for E5786s-32a
    • Add ^CHIPTEMP and ^VOLT to Device Info display
    • Add +ZBANDI=5 through +ZBANDI=9 to ZTE band setting

    1.1.0.2 (2014/06/27):
    • Add Huawei LTE bands 38 (2600MHz TDD), 40 (2300MHz TDD) and 41 (2500MHz TDD)
    • Detect D-Link DWM-156 modem (Telkom Mobile)
    • Do not send AT&F0 during initialization by default (for E5331/E5775/E5776, etc. devices)
    • New command line switch /atf0init - send AT&F0 during initialization (old MDMA behaviour)
    • New command line switch /nopolling - don't poll the modem for anything (passive mode)

    1.1.0.1 (2013/08/21):
    • Detect Huawei LTE modems
    • Add /dialmode command line switch:
      RAS - pop up RAS menu (same as MDMA < 1.0.0.31)
      MDMA - use RAS connection named 'MDMA'
      NDISDUP - use AT^NDISDUP to dial and hang up (network connection)
    • Use AT^SYSCFGEX instead of AT^SYSCFG, if available
    • Use AT^SYSINFOEX instead of AT^SYSINFO, if available
    • Huawei LTE band configuration
    • Add ^DIALMODE, ^CSNR, ^SYSINFOEX and ^SYSCFGEX capabilities to Device Info display
    • Display ^LTERSRP on main window
    • Change default dial behaviour to use NDISDUP if available (based on response of AT^DIALMODE?) otherwise use RAS connection named 'MDMA', unless overridden by /dialmode command line switch
    • If default APN is empty, set it to 'internet'
    • Don't read APN from CGDCONT: 0 (Huawei E3276)

    1.1.0.0 (2012/11/22):
    • MDMA's GUI is now in a new "landscape" orientation optimized for netbook displays, thanks to Terencek's polite reminders. The old "portrait" orientation has been deprecated.
    • Replaced the unused Cell Description field with an SNR (signal to noise ratio) display for the Huawei modems that support this feature. You don't have to do anything, if you modem supports it, you see numbers here, if not, you won't. At this stage I'm not entirely sure of what these values represent, but if you're interested have a read here (WayBackMachine). Ununocitum's theory on the reported SNR values is here.
    • In order to work around the problem of the E1820 ignoring the AT to command from the 3gpp specification to deactivate all PDP contexts (i.e. disconnect from the internet), MDMA now uses Windows RAS to hang up the connection. The downside of this is you must have a RAS entry named 'MDMA'. The easiest way to do this is to create a copy of the one created by your other dashboard.
      Failure to do this will result in the following error when using the 'Connect' button in MDMA:
      Cannot load dialog.

      Error 623: The system could not find the phone book entry for this connection.
      On the upside though, if you edit the properties of your 'MDMA' RAS entry and uncheck 'Prompt for name and password, certificate, etc,', 'Include Windows logon domain' and 'Prompt for phone number' in the Options tab, MDMA will now connect mit only vun click.
    • Changelog truncated ***

    Nerve.org.za is hosted by Apolix
    Name:  apolix-button.jpg
Views: 46663
Size:  8.9 KB
    Because local is lekker!
    Last edited by ginggs; 24-09-2017 at 12:01 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    After I got my Huawei E620 data card I began writing software to show more information than the provided software does.

    Specifically I was looking for cell info (Cellular Broadcast Messages), signal strength (in more detail than 5 graphical bars) and to distinguish between GPRS, EDGE, 3G and HSDPA.

    Originally, I only intended this program as a companion to the provided software, but it has now grown to the point where it has its own data counters and the ability to connect and disconnect from the internet. You can decide whether you want to use it for occasionally checking your connection or whether you want to use it for keeping track of your internet usage.

    The link below is to a sample screenshot of the program running:
    http://www.nerve.org.za/e620tool/e620tool.png

    Right now I'm looking for people who have an MTN [email protected] or Huawei E620 card on a computer running Windows who are comfortable with downloading a strange program form a strange person and providing me with details when things go wrong and suggestions to make it better. Please have your own anti-virus, anti-spyware and firewall software.

    If you're interested, PM me your email address and I'll provide a download link.

    I'll edit the first page in this thread for announcements etc.

    @MTN_DD: Perhaps you could organize me a Huawei E220 USB modem on loan for testing, please?
    MMMMM,

    Will have to see what I can do on that one ginggs

    MTNDD
    Last edited by ginggs; 27-11-2012 at 08:29 PM.

  3. #3

    Default

    I used that software and it works well.

    Cant you try and integrate it with the original software to improve the features then we can use it instead of the original software? Just a thought...
    Some days it's not even worth chewing through the restraints!

  4. #4
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MavChat View Post
    I used that software and it works well.
    Thanks man!
    Quote Originally Posted by MavChat View Post
    Cant you try and integrate it with the original software to improve the features then we can use it instead of the original software? Just a thought...
    Have thought about this too, the problem is that only one program can access a serial port at a time.

    One option is to patch the MTN/Huawei program so that I can intercept the messages coming from the card. The problem with this option is that every time there's an update, I'll have to re-work the interception code.

    Another option is to use a technique similar to Systems Internals' PortMon program (which incidentally I made a lot use of in making the E620 Tool) to intercept the communication from the card at the kernel level. I did inquire about obtaining the source to PortMon, but unfortunately they could not help me. I guess this has something to do with Microsoft buying them out earlier this year.

    Lastly, from what I've read on this forum; see:
    http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthre...843#post724843
    It take it that there's a new version of the MTN/Huawei software on its way.
    I don't know if MTN are taking feature requests, but it would be prudent for me to wait to see what they come up with.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    Thanks man!

    Have thought about this too, the problem is that only one program can access a serial port at a time.

    One option is to patch the MTN/Huawei program so that I can intercept the messages coming from the card. The problem with this option is that every time there's an update, I'll have to re-work the interception code.

    Another option is to use a technique similar to Systems Internals' PortMon program (which incidentally I made a lot use of in making the E620 Tool) to intercept the communication from the card at the kernel level. I did inquire about obtaining the source to PortMon, but unfortunately they could not help me. I guess this has something to do with Microsoft buying them out earlier this year.

    Lastly, from what I've read on this forum; see:
    http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthre...843#post724843
    It take it that there's a new version of the MTN/Huawei software on its way.
    I don't know if MTN are taking feature requests, but it would be prudent for me to wait to see what they come up with.
    Thanks for this ginggs

    MTNDD

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Vredehoek. Cape town. (the 3 towers)
    Posts
    306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    After I got my Huawei E620 data card I began writing software to show more information than the provided software does.

    Specifically I was looking for cell info (Cellular Broadcast Messages), signal strength (in more detail than 5 graphical bars) and to distinguish between GPRS, EDGE, 3G and HSDPA.

    Originally, I only intended this program as a companion to the provided software, but it has now grown to the point where it has its own data counters and the ability to connect and disconnect from the internet. You can decide whether you want to use it for occasionally checking your connection or whether you want to use it for keeping track of your internet usage.

    The link below is to a sample screenshot of the program running:
    http://www.nerve.org.za/e620tool/e620tool.png

    Right now I'm looking for people who have an MTN [email protected] or Huawei E620 card on a computer running Windows who are comfortable with downloading a strange program form a strange person and providing me with details when things go wrong and suggestions to make it better. Please have your own anti-virus, anti-spyware and firewall software.

    If you're interested, PM me your email address and I'll provide a download link.

    I'll edit the first page in this thread for announcements etc.

    @MTN_DD: Perhaps you could organize me a Huawei E220 USB modem on loan for testing, please?
    I have been using this software for about +-6 weeks and it is working well. I also have a firmware upgrade tha lets you get your balances with this software.

    Sean
    Last edited by ginggs; 31-01-2014 at 10:37 AM.
    Travel the World_

  7. #7

    Default

    do you have to have the fastlink software installed to use it?

  8. #8
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sean12 View Post
    I have been using this software for about +-6 weeks and it is working well.
    Thanks sean12.
    Quote Originally Posted by sean12 View Post
    I also have a firmware upgrade tha lets you get your balances with this software.
    No you don't. There is no firmware, there is no spoon.

  9. #9
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidwza View Post
    do you have to have the fastlink software installed to use it?
    No you don't, but you do need the drivers for the card installed.

  10. #10

  11. #11

    Arrow

    Howzit Ginggs, that looks great, I've taken a copy and let you know my findings soon too!

    Unbelievable the thing only takes 80 Kb :-) :-)

    Now I have a really really weird request......

    Would it be possible to make visible ALL the cells the card can see? - And if so, would software be able to PREVENT the card from using a certain cell (basestation) or putting a preference on another basestation?

    Let me explain my setup :-)

    I'm on the edge of Jo'burg civilization. From where I live, my phones and datacard find about 3 basestations, of which the 2 nearest are only GPRS enabled, and one (farther) is EDGE capable!!!! The crazy thing is that if I place certain metal objects around the card on my desk while logged on, I can actually hear the card switching from the one basestation (blocked by metal) to another basestation and BAM! I have like quadruple the speeds !!

    Now the sad thing is, that even though my careful placing of all the metal objects (which makes my desk a joke), the nearer sites (basestations) STILL so now and then give better signal (DAMN), and the card switches over, back to GPRS :-(((

    Now, if I could just bar one or two site IDs, I could permanently log on onto the EDGE site..

    Okay, I know there is a more scientific solution I should look at, which is buying a YAGI antenna, and point in to the EDGE site, but hey, if you like programming, and you think it would be possible to manage the card to this extend, maybe you could help me?

    Okay, long story, but I'm sure half of the forumites would probably have checked what's metal on their desks as well :-)

    AmaDownload
    Last edited by AmaDownload; 08-12-2006 at 04:35 PM. Reason: pimping up the grammar

  12. #12
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AmaDownload View Post
    Howzit Ginggs, that looks great, I've taken a copy and let you know my findings soon too!
    Thanks.
    Quote Originally Posted by AmaDownload View Post
    Unbelievable the thing only takes 80 Kb :-) :-)
    It's written in C and there are no fancy graphics. I could rant on and on about bloated software like iTunes and Acrobat Reader but I'll save that for another thread!
    Quote Originally Posted by AmaDownload View Post
    Would it be possible to make visible ALL the cells the card can see? - And if so, would software be able to PREVENT the card from using a certain cell (basestation) or putting a preference on another basestation?
    My numerous requests to Huawei for details on programming the card have fallen on deaf ears. They seem to be very secretive, maybe that's just the way Chinese companies operate.
    Strangely though, they don't seem to respect other companies' secrets:
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2003/01...uawei_over_ip/

    Even if I did have the programing details from Huawei, I don't think that one can get that level of control over the card from the PC, those details are handled internally by the card's firmware.

    Quote Originally Posted by AmaDownload View Post
    Okay, I know there is a more scientific solution I should look at, which is buying a YAGI antenna, and point in to the EDGE site
    I think this is your best option. Look for a wide band antenna that can do 3G as well, so when you area gets upgraded you can still use it. This one from Poynting seems to be the dog's bollocks:
    http://www.poynting.co.za/productdis...d=151&cat_id=2

  13. #13

    Default

    @ginngs I d/l'ed your program and tried it. nice! doesn't show me any cell info tho.
    cat knowledge | grep understanding

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sselmrah View Post
    @ginngs I d/l'ed your program and tried it. nice! doesn't show me any cell info tho.
    Sselmrah

    Hey there

    There looks to be possitive feedback all around

    Could you please advise on the cell info display as I'm pretty sure that it did show that info

    MTNDD

  15. #15
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MTN_Data_Dude View Post
    Could you please advise on the cell info display as I'm pretty sure that it did show that info
    @Sselmrah and all the other testers, please let me know if you're receiving cell broadcasts or not, I am trying to determine whether I may have changed a setting on my data card while testing which enables me to receive them, that still needs to be done within e620 tool.

    If your data card is stationary and you receive a strong signal from only one tower you might only receive a couple of cell broadcasts when your card first registers on the network and you may miss them while your computer is booting or before you've started the e620 tool. You can possibly induce the reception of these initial cell broadcasts by closing the e620 tool, ejecting your data card, re-inserting it and then starting the e620 tool immediately after you hear the sound indicating that the card has been detected.

    Lastly, you cannot receive any cell broadcasts while in 3G mode, so for testing you could put your card into GPRS/EDGE Only mode temporarily.
    Last edited by ginggs; 13-12-2006 at 10:11 PM.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 88 123451151 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]
    By ginggs in forum Cellular: Mobile Phones, Call Contracts, Content, MMS and SMS
    Replies: 912
    Last Post: 20-11-2010, 05:38 PM
  2. MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]
    By ginggs in forum MTN Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, HSUPA, 3G, EDGE and BIS
    Replies: 912
    Last Post: 20-11-2010, 05:38 PM
  3. MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]
    By ginggs in forum Cell C Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 912
    Last Post: 20-11-2010, 05:38 PM
  4. Replies: 355
    Last Post: 19-02-2008, 02:14 PM
  5. Replies: 355
    Last Post: 19-02-2008, 02:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •