You should join our great online community now - you can win great prizes
Register now
You should subscribe to our free MyBroadband newsletter


+ Reply to Thread
Page 78 of 88 FirstFirst ... 2868747576777879808182 ... LastLast
Results 1,156 to 1,170 of 1314

Thread: MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]

  1. #1156

    Default

    No problems - whichever is consistent and not dependent on the modem, thanks!

  2. #1157
    Senior Member FreddyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Somerset West
    Posts
    224

    Default

    Hi guys, just got my Huawei E3256 and wanted to download the latest version of MDMA but seems the website is down
    Boycott MWEB: Beware excessive usage, MWEB warns ADSL users
    1. Convert account to 1 gig capped.
    2. Cancellation form ([email protected] / fax 0215968915)

  3. #1158
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,620

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FreddyB View Post
    Hi guys, just got my Huawei E3256 and wanted to download the latest version of MDMA but seems the website is down
    http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/nerve.org.za
    It's just you. http://nerve.org.za is up.

  4. #1159
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,620

    Default

    Copied from the MDMA 1.1.0.1 Beta Testing thread and updated.

    Capabilities of some Huawei modems:
    ^CSNR ^NDISDUP ^SYSINFOEX ^SYSCFGEX ^DIALMODE
    Model Network Interface New RAT Info LTE band config
    E272 X X X X N/A
    EM770 X X X X N/A
    E303 (HiLink, after switching) X X X 0,2
    E1752 X X 2,0
    E1820 X X 2,2
    E2010 (11.126.02.00) X X 2
    E367 X 2,0
    K4605 (E372) X 2,2
    E3276s-150 (non-HiLink 21.192.13.00.00) 1,2
    E3276s-150 (non-HiLink 21.260.03.00.00) 2,3
    E3276s-150 (non-HiLink 21.436.03.00.00) 2,3
    E3276s-210 (non-HiLink 21.436.03.00.00) 2,3
    E3276s-920 (non-HiLink 21.260.05.00.76) 2,3

    Explanation of ^DIALMODE
    AT^DIALMODE? queries the dial-up modes available on the modem.

    Defined values of the first parameter <value1>:
    0: Modem mode
    1: NDIS mode
    2: Modem mode and NDIS mode

    Defined values of the second parameter <cdc_mode>:
    0 (or not present): Modem and NDIS modes do not support CDC specification
    1: only Modem mode supports CDC specification
    2: only NDIS mode supports CDC specification
    3: both Modem and NDIS modes support CDC specification
    Last edited by ginggs; 16-06-2014 at 11:49 AM.

  5. #1160

    Default

    #1 Any reason my K4201-Z just shows "detecting mobile data device"
    #2 Any way I can see my mobile number ? (Work supplied us with SIM and modem - but numbers are no longer preallocated ?)

  6. #1161
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,620

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Anthro View Post
    #1 Any reason my K4201-Z just shows "detecting mobile data device"
    MDMA doesn't know how to automatically detect your modem. You can specify the port and command set on the command line and probably be able to at least get basic functionality; signal strength, USSD, etc.
    Quote Originally Posted by Anthro View Post
    #2 Any way I can see my mobile number ? (Work supplied us with SIM and modem - but numbers are no longer preallocated ?)
    Which network? Most of them have a USSD code for this.

  7. #1162

    Default

    Hello.

    Great software, but i do have one problem.

    Cell broadcast/Cell info does not seem to work.
    What channel is the software listening on?

    Im using a Huawei E3276 modem.

    The providers here are showing cell tower name here, but i dont see anything in MDMA.

    Regards
    Brian

  8. #1163
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,620

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Houge View Post
    Cell broadcast/Cell info does not seem to work.
    What channel is the software listening on?
    MDMA listens on all channels.
    Quote Originally Posted by Houge View Post
    The providers here are showing cell tower name here, but i dont see anything in MDMA.
    I've only seen cellular broadcast messages on GSM/EDGE, never on 3G, HSPA and LTE.

  9. #1164

    Default

    Hi.

    Your correct that the cell names are only sent on GSM/EDGE, but MDMA dont show anything on GSM/EDGE.
    On my cellphone i see the names, when i activate cell broadcast on it. I believe its on channel 50.

    Regards
    Brian

  10. #1165
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,620

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Houge View Post
    Your correct that the cell names are only sent on GSM/EDGE, but MDMA dont show anything on GSM/EDGE.
    I can't recall if the E3276 supports CBM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Houge View Post
    On my cellphone i see the names, when i activate cell broadcast on it. I believe its on channel 50.
    Is this with the same SIM card? I recall a user with a dedicated data SIM was unable to receive any CBMs. They must have been blocked by the network operator.

    Cell information broadcasts are normally on channel 50, except some network operators in South Africa have hijacked that channel to advertise discount rates and relocated the cell information to channel 60 (Vodacom) or channel 250 (MTN).

  11. #1166

    Default

    I don't know if E3276 support CBM. Not sure where to see that.

    I tried to switch simcards. They are both voice+data. I also tried another simcard.
    All 3 cards works with CBM in my old Nokia phone, but none work with CBM in the E3276.
    It seems its channel50 they use for tower name here.

    Full modem name is E3276s-150
    Hardware CH1E3276SM
    Firmware 21.260.05.00.00

    Regards
    Brian

  12. #1167

    Default

    So i got a wfi/3g/4g huawei E5776.
    it has a hi-link interface but unlike other hilink i seen also a com port but when i start MDMA it just "resets" the modem back to factory defaults.
    mdma gives a short glimse of signal and network but to short to be of any use when trying to find the sweet spot of my antenna. im guessing mdma has some command at start that this modem handels diffrently and just resets to factory.
    i would be happy for any suggetions. only other dong i got has hi-link and no comport a E3131 i think it was pesky thing.

  13. #1168

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jlx View Post
    So i got a wfi/3g/4g huawei E5776.
    it has a hi-link interface but unlike other hilink i seen also a com port but when i start MDMA it just "resets" the modem back to factory defaults.
    mdma gives a short glimse of signal and network but to short to be of any use when trying to find the sweet spot of my antenna. im guessing mdma has some command at start that this modem handels diffrently and just resets to factory.
    i would be happy for any suggetions. only other dong i got has hi-link and no comport a E3131 i think it was pesky thing.
    Known problem no resolve yet. Sometimes MDMA works fine for me but mostly resets the modem. I use 3GModemConnectbeta.exe for testing and setting up the sweet spot for now.

    http://www.rfactory.org/3G/index.html
    http://www.rfactory.org/3G/manual.html
    http://www.rfactory.org/3G/download.html

    Name:  PrintScreen003.jpg
Views: 1889
Size:  164.7 KB
    Last edited by Seriously; 02-04-2014 at 02:17 AM.
    I do not like Nazi/Hamas/PA/ISIS/BDS/Syria/Assad/Russia/Syria/Assad/Iran apologists!

  14. #1169
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,620

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jlx View Post
    So i got a wfi/3g/4g huawei E5776.
    it has a hi-link interface but unlike other hilink i seen also a com port but when i start MDMA it just "resets" the modem back to factory defaults.
    mdma gives a short glimse of signal and network but to short to be of any use when trying to find the sweet spot of my antenna. im guessing mdma has some command at start that this modem handels diffrently and just resets to factory.
    i would be happy for any suggetions. only other dong i got has hi-link and no comport a E3131 i think it was pesky thing.
    See here:
    http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthre...Mobile-Partner

  15. #1170

    Default

    How accurate is the data counter in mdma because lately there's been a discrepancy whith it and afrihosts clientzone.
    The upload amount lines up pretty well with afrihost clientzone but the download is almost 100 meg more on clientzone.

    I use a dongle and only my pc.
    Last edited by Stevewarren; 08-05-2014 at 12:04 PM.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 78 of 88 FirstFirst ... 2868747576777879808182 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]
    By ginggs in forum Cellular: Mobile Phones, Call Contracts, Content, MMS and SMS
    Replies: 912
    Last Post: 20-11-2010, 05:38 PM
  2. MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]
    By ginggs in forum MTN Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, HSUPA, 3G, EDGE and BIS
    Replies: 912
    Last Post: 20-11-2010, 05:38 PM
  3. MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]
    By ginggs in forum Cell C Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 912
    Last Post: 20-11-2010, 05:38 PM
  4. Replies: 355
    Last Post: 19-02-2008, 02:14 PM
  5. Replies: 355
    Last Post: 19-02-2008, 02:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •