Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 85 of 85 FirstFirst ... 35758182838485
Results 1,261 to 1,272 of 1272

Thread: Vodacom Speed Test & Results: speed.vodacom.co.za & speedtest.net

  1. #1261

  2. #1262
    Super Grandmaster AirWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Port Shepstone, KZN, RSA, EARTH
    Posts
    19,466

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cavedog View Post
    That's fast.
    Hibiscus Coast Photographic Society
    (previously known as: Hibiscus Coast Camera Club)

  3. #1263
    Super Grandmaster cavedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    9,305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AirWolf View Post
    That's fast.
    Yeah LTE Advanced which is pretty decently covered in Centurion and Jhb

  4. #1264

    Default

    My LTE speed on my phone Samsung Galaxy S7 peaks at 60Mb/s at home but but on my Huawei B315 router I only get around 40Mb/s. Might this be an APN issue, since the APN on the router I believes defaults to internet but on my phone it's lte.vodacom.za?
    Death to Humans

  5. #1265
    Super Grandmaster cavedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    9,305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nu11 View Post
    My LTE speed on my phone Samsung Galaxy S7 peaks at 60Mb/s at home but but on my Huawei B315 router I only get around 40Mb/s. Might this be an APN issue, since the APN on the router I believes defaults to internet but on my phone it's lte.vodacom.za?
    Unlikely. I think it's more a lte and lte a thing and connecting to different towers and noise.

    On my s8 4G+ means lte advanced and 4G is normal lte. Since coverage of towers can overlap it speed differences could be from different towers.

  6. #1266

    Default

    Don't think that's the case, there is definitely no LTE advanced where I live and I'm definitely not picking up more than one tower. I live in Lydenburg, Mpumalanga. Super small town. Haha.

    But thank you anyway.
    Death to Humans

  7. #1267
    Super Grandmaster cavedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    9,305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nu11 View Post
    Don't think that's the case, there is definitely no LTE advanced where I live and I'm definitely not picking up more than one tower. I live in Lydenburg, Mpumalanga. Super small town. Haha.

    But thank you anyway.
    You can try changing the APN but since they ditch the vlive billing the apns is all the same and does not affect the speed it might be something else though.

  8. #1268

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cavedog View Post
    You can try changing the APN but since they ditch the vlive billing the apns is all the same and does not affect the speed it might be something else though.
    You were totally right, changing the APN didn't do anything. Wonder what else it could be?
    Death to Humans

  9. #1269
    Super Grandmaster SharkBait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    7,697

    Default

    Midrand with R216 router:

  10. #1270
    Super Grandmaster cavedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    9,305

    Default

    Vodacom simcard in a Huawei B618 forced to Rain 2600MHz frequency...


  11. #1271
    Super Grandmaster cavedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    9,305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nu11 View Post
    Don't think that's the case, there is definitely no LTE advanced where I live and I'm definitely not picking up more than one tower. I live in Lydenburg, Mpumalanga. Super small town. Haha.

    But thank you anyway.
    I see you live in Lydenburg... You have Rain and Vodacom can roam on Rain and since you have a S7 you make use of carrier aggregation on Rain so you are indeed getting LTE Advanced on your Vodacom simcard.

    Basically everyone on Vodacom that live within Rain coverage has LTE-A and it will switch to LTE-A automatically.

  12. #1272
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    johannesburg
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Speed Vodacom LTE always was good enough, since Friday 15 December 2017 dropped to up/download 1 (ONE) Megabit/sec. Area is known by different names: Maroeladal (Google Maps), Needwood (official name) in larger Broadacres area. My house is within Vodacom LTE coverage, using since Septmber 2015 their Broadband Connection LITE LTE service, renewed by this November. Have asked for technician to come out (which is part of their contract for 1 visit) but had to do 5 (FIVE) speedtests and send to the helpdesk agent. I suspect a tower failure, last week could stream HD television without a glitch.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 85 of 85 FirstFirst ... 35758182838485

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •