Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 44 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 648

Thread: ADSL Protea Village, Brackenfell

  1. #1
    Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cape Town, Northern Suburbs
    Posts
    504

    Default ADSL Protea Village, Brackenfell

    As of 25th of July 2014 (cable theft, 021 982 ****) couple of streets in my area have been without voice/ADSL. Fault logged with Telkom on 26th but their reply was that this is now a high risk area, and they want to replace services with W-CDMA. I've stayed here 5 years and this is the first incident of any type of cable theft in my area that I know of...my line has never been down since I moved here 5 years ago.

    So, 1 incident of theft and now this is a high risk area? I know of other places (this year) where cables have been replaced 5 times (or more) already.

    What I don't get is how Telkom's vision could be to upgrade exchanges if their "policy" is to NOT replace stolen lines!?

    ...been phoning 10210 like a madman but they can't help, and the escalations that I've asked to be put on this call just gets closed without anybody contacting me.

    Is there anything that can be done to convince Telkom to replace the copper line with a new one for my area?

  2. #2
    Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cape Town, Northern Suburbs
    Posts
    504

    Default

    Problem has been resolved (cable was replaced on 19 August 2014)

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Brackenfell
    Posts
    83

    Default

    The issue is still ongoing in Normandie Brackenfell - I've been without service since the 17th of July 2014. I've escalated it with Telkom and I have about 9 Escalation numbers as refference. To date i'm still without Voice/DSL -

    Cables still not replaced

  4. #4
    Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cape Town, Northern Suburbs
    Posts
    504

    Default

    @Lafrass ...sent you a pm

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Brackenfell
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Thanks Mr. I'll try your suggestion - I'll try anything at this stage

    Much appriciated

  6. #6
    Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cape Town, Northern Suburbs
    Posts
    504

    Default

    lemme know if you come right

  7. #7
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Brackenfell
    Posts
    83

    Default

    And the lines are gone yet again in Normandie Brackenfell.... Not even two months down the line since it was replaced..... This is getting old very fast.

  8. #8

    Default

    What? I am not at home (cabernet St), but will be arriving tomorrow after a long holiday. My line better works!

  9. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Brackenfell
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Good Luck Buddy - Spoke to Telkom now, and the say that the line is badly damaged and that they are not sure if they are going to repair or even replace it, as it was subjected to theft a month and half back.

    Strongs

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Brackenfell, Western Cape
    Posts
    356

    Default

    My alarm went off on Saturday morning when they cut the cable for some reason. I logged the Telkom fault right there and then. Got an SMS yesterday saying that the technical team is looking into it, and another today. Holding thumbs.

  11. #11

    Default

    I'm starting to think about stealing my own cables so they can just bloody replace them.

    Also in Brackenfell and the service has been up and down....which doesn't make sense because if everyone else's cables have been stolen surely my internet should be better not worse.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Brackenfell, Western Cape
    Posts
    356

    Default

    On another note, I've noticed that they have just installed a big off-white cabinet just to the right of the old-school one you can see at the intersection of Bergroos and Kruin here: https://www.google.co.za/maps/@-33.8...55iT3_Oj3Q!2e0. There has been some digging/cabling work in the area recently and a concrete slab with 5 or 6 fairly large conduits appeared a few weeks ago where the new cabinet is now standing.

    Hoping that's a positive sign.

  13. #13
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Brackenfell
    Posts
    83

    Default

    If they do decide to fix the line (which i highly doubt, as we've been flagged as a high risk area), it will probably take a month or 2.... Better start looking for alternative and.......

    Wireless is still very expensive on the uncapped bundle side

  14. #14
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Brackenfell
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Confirmation from Telkom received that the cables will be replaced - Service to be restored on 24/10/2014

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Brackenfell, Western Cape
    Posts
    356

    Default

    Yup I just got it too. My Afrihost Mobile SIM is worthless because of MTN's hideous signal, and topping up my CellC SIM has proven to be a nice wallet draining exercise.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 44 1234511 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Protea Village (Brackenfell) ADSL problems
    By DayWalkerGBR in forum Telkom ADSL area problems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-10-2017, 01:38 PM
  2. ADSL problems in Protea Heights (Brackenfell)
    By jaco45 in forum Telkom ADSL area problems
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-10-2017, 01:38 PM
  3. ADSL problem in Brackenfell
    By Jza in forum Telkom ADSL area problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-08-2013, 11:09 AM
  4. ADSL in Brackenfell (Arauna)
    By wireice in forum Telkom ADSL area problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-08-2013, 02:47 PM
  5. Vodacom 3G is DEAD in Protea Heights (Brackenfell) since last night
    By UtianG in forum Vodacom Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31-10-2012, 08:56 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •