Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Why are VDSL lines cheaper than ADSL

  1. #1

    Default Why are VDSL lines cheaper than ADSL

    Firstly a link: https://www.voxtelecom.co.za/adsl-lines

    I guess I'm asking this question for interest's sake.
    So here it's listed that VSDL 20meg line is noticeably (R100) cheaper than ADSL 10meg line.
    And the 40meg line seems to be the same price as the 10meg line.

    I guess my question is then where is the hidden cost?
    Is it because using these lines you're likely to eat way more data and therefore require more capped data per month or to sign up for a expensive uncapped solution?

  2. #2
    Grandmaster jackshiels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Constantia, Western Cape
    Posts
    1,578

    Default

    It's Vox attempting to get high end users on their Fatpipe solution. Those are pretty much cost price rates - they are undercutting everyone else by a significant margin to gain marketshare.

    Why they don't do this for ADSL I do not know. Perhaps too much of their revenue comes from ADSL and VDSL is underselling. It could be a unique marketing plan for VDSL.
    The speedtest to end all speedtests: http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5776654001

  3. #3

    Default

    Well there are much more ADSL clients than VDSL clients due to physical limitations, therefore they milk the majority.
    Intel I5 2500K 1155 | 16GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator | EVGA GTX 970 FTW+ | 7.5TB | Corsair Graphite 600T

  4. #4

    Default

    Does it matter? Probably just a marketing thing to try and draw in more customers.

    IMO their VDSL line prices make it worth the jump from Telkom, quite a significant saving per month.
    Fibrehoods 100 Mbit FTTH :: Billion 8800NXL Router / Huawei HG659:: PfSense
    ISP: VOX

    Car Sound SA Forums

  5. #5

    Default

    Assuming one can actually get VDSL in my area :/. I mean I'm right under UCT you'd think Telkom would have me covered :P.

  6. #6
    Super Grandmaster Johnatan56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    15,539

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fudge_za View Post
    Assuming one can actually get VDSL in my area :/. I mean I'm right under UCT you'd think Telkom would have me covered :P.
    You can sign for 20mbps and just sync at your highest line sync.
    Quote Originally Posted by ChocolateBadger View Post
    Welcome to life. It's your life. Do what you want.
    http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6723240596

  7. #7

    Default

    Hmm, almost R100pm cheaper for 20mbps VDSL than Afrihost !

    Or I can take 40mpbs VDSL for the same price as 20mbps VDSL with Afrihost.

    Tempting ...

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Johnatan56 View Post
    You can sign for 20mbps and just sync at your highest line sync.
    Though doesn't that require some extra charges? Like a fancy router and whatnot?

  9. #9
    Super Grandmaster Johnatan56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    15,539

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fudge_za View Post
    Though doesn't that require some extra charges? Like a fancy router and whatnot?
    No, it's still ADSL2+, I haven't changed to VDSL. Just ask to be set on ADSL2+ instead of VDSL, only difference is upload where VDSL will give you an extra 1mbps or so. (ADSL2+ max is 24/1.4 at most, but will vary while VDSL is max 55/3 since Telkom decided to go with the old VDSL instead of the newer standard).

    VDSL = need router with VDSL support, should be backwards compatible to ADSL2+
    ADSL2+ = won't support VDSL, you would have to get a new router for VDSL.
    Quote Originally Posted by ChocolateBadger View Post
    Welcome to life. It's your life. Do what you want.
    http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6723240596

  10. #10
    Super Grandmaster cavedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    8,773

    Default

    Yeah exactly what I'm doing with the free router I got from Telkom with the Telkom Simple plus deal.

    Why pay more for 10Mbps when I can pay less for 13Mbps.....

    Telkom does not have the stabilization profiles between 10Mbps and 20Mbps so Telkom has set it to maximum stable or +- 1.5Mbps less than what the very limit is for your line. It ensures that the line does not drop and works very well actually. This is why when I restart my router I might get 300k more download or even less download speed depending how the line stats change.


  11. #11

    Default

    VDSL provides a more stable connection at higher rates and with better error correction.

    My guess is switching customers over to VDSL has a direct cost saving in terms of calls logged and technician visits.

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Bryanston ADSL / VDSL
    By shakebake in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25-09-2014, 02:18 PM
  2. Adsl or vdsl
    By sturshel in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-07-2014, 08:30 PM
  3. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 14-04-2014, 04:09 PM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-12-2011, 06:58 PM
  5. Replies: 86
    Last Post: 21-10-2007, 02:28 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •