Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: TP-LINK W8968 intermittent high latency and traffic drops

  1. #1

    Angry TP-LINK W8968 intermittent high latency and traffic drops

    Hi Guys,

    I noticed a few weeks ago that every minute or so I get high pings when playing DOTA2. Initially I blamed Afrihost but after some investigation I realised that I'm getting intermittent spikes in latency and traffic drops from my WIFI.

    I've tested the WIFI from two different PC's with the same results. I had "TD-W8968_V3_140821" and updated the firmware to "TD-W8968_V3_150205" which was released 5th Feb 2015 and it made no difference at all.

    Also, my WIFI region was set to United States and changing it to South Africa didn't make much of a difference either. The rest of the settings are default:
    Channel: AUTO.
    Mode: 11bgn
    Bandwidth: 20/40Mhz
    WMM: enabled
    Auth: WPA2
    WPA encrypt: AES

    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64

    Anyone else got a similar issue with this router or any ideas on what to try next?
    "I ran until it felt like my veins pumped battery acid... and then i ran some more" - Fight Club

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Napalm2880 View Post
    Hi Guys,

    I noticed a few weeks ago that every minute or so I get high pings when playing DOTA2. Initially I blamed Afrihost but after some investigation I realised that I'm getting intermittent spikes in latency and traffic drops from my WIFI.

    I've tested the WIFI from two different PC's with the same results. I had "TD-W8968_V3_140821" and updated the firmware to "TD-W8968_V3_150205" which was released 5th Feb 2015 and it made no difference at all.

    Also, my WIFI region was set to United States and changing it to South Africa didn't make much of a difference either. The rest of the settings are default:
    Channel: AUTO.
    Mode: 11bgn
    Bandwidth: 20/40Mhz
    WMM: enabled
    Auth: WPA2
    WPA encrypt: AES

    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64

    Anyone else got a similar issue with this router or any ideas on what to try next?
    Try setting your channel to a manual frequency the router could be changing channels when you get those spikes.
    Level-7 Internet
    www.level-7.co.za
    010 9000 777

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by level-7admin View Post
    Try setting your channel to a manual frequency the router could be changing channels when you get those spikes.
    Just tested setting the Channel to 9 and I'm still hitting the same issue with intermittent high latency. Thanks though. Good suggestion.

    Any other ideas on what could be causing this?
    "I ran until it felt like my veins pumped battery acid... and then i ran some more" - Fight Club

  4. #4

    Default

    Same issue here with my Tplink TD-W8961N wifi, I had to replace me dirt cheap Asus router due to lightning.

    Noticed when I plugged in the network cable everything was fine, but the wifi would just stop tranmitting intermediatly.

    I also have to reconnect my phone when the connection doesn't work (you get full reception and it looks stable, but isn't).

    Thats when I knew the wifi was the culprit, updating the firmware has had no effect.

    Also, the wifi range is rather poor, even with the 2 receivers... my old Asus router kicked its ass.

  5. #5

    Default

    This is really frustrating because I had issues with the WIFI on my Billion W40 before this. If I had too many torrents running, the router would lock up. Bought the TP-Link because I figured I would be better off.
    "I ran until it felt like my veins pumped battery acid... and then i ran some more" - Fight Club

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Napalm2880 View Post
    This is really frustrating because I had issues with the WIFI on my Billion W40 before this. If I had too many torrents running, the router would lock up. Bought the TP-Link because I figured I would be better off.
    Does switching between 20/40mhz help at all? Have you tried different fixed channels?
    Level-7 Internet
    www.level-7.co.za
    010 9000 777

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by level-7admin View Post
    Does switching between 20/40mhz help at all? Have you tried different fixed channels?
    FIXED!!! So.... I have the choice between 20Mhz and 20/40Mhz (default).

    Setting it to 20Mhz fixed my problem. Any idea what this feature actually does?
    "I ran until it felt like my veins pumped battery acid... and then i ran some more" - Fight Club

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Napalm2880 View Post
    FIXED!!! So.... I have the choice between 20Mhz and 20/40Mhz (default).

    Setting it to 20Mhz fixed my problem. Any idea what this feature actually does?
    40Mhz is generally a wider wireless Width used with N range to provide more bandwidth but if you have interference or LoS problems it helps to reduce it to low as possible thus being 20mhz for you...being 2.4GHZ you must have some serious interference from somewhere and you would be best served by 5GHZ since other channels did not work...i take it you live in a complex or something where alot of people are close together?

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Napalm2880 View Post
    FIXED!!! So.... I have the choice between 20Mhz and 20/40Mhz (default).

    Setting it to 20Mhz fixed my problem. Any idea what this feature actually does?
    Level-7 Internet
    www.level-7.co.za
    010 9000 777

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by willsotaku View Post
    40Mhz is generally a wider wireless Width used with N range to provide more bandwidth but if you have interference or LoS problems it helps to reduce it to low as possible thus being 20mhz for you...being 2.4GHZ you must have some serious interference from somewhere and you would be best served by 5GHZ since other channels did not work...i take it you live in a complex or something where alot of people are close together?
    I think you're right, there's definitely interference coming from the neighbors and nearby appliances. Sadly the TP-Link W8968 doesn't support 5Ghz so I'm stuck with the 2.4Ghz channels. Hopefully the 20Mhz bandwidth setting is a permanent fix. I'll report back here with the results - hopefully the WIFI performance isn't too much slower.
    "I ran until it felt like my veins pumped battery acid... and then i ran some more" - Fight Club

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Napalm2880 View Post
    I think you're right, there's definitely interference coming from the neighbors and nearby appliances. Sadly the TP-Link W8968 doesn't support 5Ghz so I'm stuck with the 2.4Ghz channels. Hopefully the 20Mhz bandwidth setting is a permanent fix. I'll report back here with the results - hopefully the WIFI performance isn't too much slower.
    Hi napalm, any updates? :-)

    I was pulling out my hair with this wifi issue .. .am at work but will make the change to 20Mhz when i get home and see if that solves my problem, but just interested to see if your issue was resolved .. or if i need to look elsewhere!

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cenredash View Post
    Hi napalm, any updates? :-)

    I was pulling out my hair with this wifi issue .. .am at work but will make the change to 20Mhz when i get home and see if that solves my problem, but just interested to see if your issue was resolved .. or if i need to look elsewhere!
    On my 3rd router now and the WIFI issues still seem to persist. I'm putting it down to interference (unknown source) and switched to using power-line adapters. Just a tip on the power-line devices - don't daisy chain them from the wall socket using a multi-plug, rather plug them directly into the wall socket for best performance. Had a good little cry when I switched from my flakey WIFI setup to the power-line adapters and I was still seeing random high latency, finally figured out the multi-plug was the problem.
    "I ran until it felt like my veins pumped battery acid... and then i ran some more" - Fight Club

  13. #13
    SwiftFibre Networks SwiftFibreGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Napalm2880 View Post
    finally figured out the multi-plug was the problem.
    Pretty sure the manual says not to use a multiplug too, the Powerline devices need to be in mains power.

    If you can, have you tested the ping from the router itself, or while cabled over Ethernet? You can get apps to check the local wifi frequency usage, adn make suggestions on the best channel to move to, to avoid interference. Also, is your router able to breathe? It needs airflow!

    You might be choking your router, depending on the number of devices connected, their connection quality and amount of local and outbound traffic. Cheap consumer routers are not able to handle a LOT of traffic, torrents can easily max out its buffer.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Vanderbijlpark
    Posts
    310

    Default

    I suspect it is that model. My WIFI drops like 3m away from it... use it as my modem and use another router with as dead DSL port for WIFI.

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. QoS - TP-Link: TD-W8968
    By copacetic in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2014, 08:26 PM
  2. Intermittent high latency on hop 2
    By eremos in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-08-2013, 12:12 AM
  3. TP link W8968
    By Louis72 in forum PC Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 23-02-2013, 04:55 PM
  4. Intermittent 'line drops'
    By cryptic1 in forum Neotel NeoConnect, NeoFlex and NeoBroadband
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-02-2009, 10:02 PM
  5. Intermittent ADSL drops...?
    By Devo-sa in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15-07-2008, 12:00 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •