Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 20 of 21 FirstFirst ... 10161718192021 LastLast
Results 286 to 300 of 312

Thread: Alberton Fibre

  1. #286
    Super Grandmaster SharkBait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    8,331
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I see the trenching has started in Verwoerdpark. Haven't seen any identification boards or been able to ask anyone what it's for, but one can only assume it's Vumatel.

  2. #287
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's Vodacom that is busy with fiber in Verwoerdpark.

  3. #288
    Super Grandmaster SharkBait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    8,331
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KnightLion View Post
    It's Vodacom that is busy with fiber in Verwoerdpark.
    That's what the one guy said, but I thought he was just wrong, as Vumatel came past to advertise... This is not good news.

  4. #289
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SharkBait View Post
    That's what the one guy said, but I thought he was just wrong, as Vumatel came past to advertise... This is not good news.
    Why isn't it good news? their pricing isn't that much different than Vuma.

  5. #290
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No one is working or even thinking of working on fiber in Florentia.

  6. #291
    Super Grandmaster SharkBait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    8,331
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KnightLion View Post
    Why isn't it good news? their pricing isn't that much different than Vuma.
    Their uncapped is way more expensive than CISP, whom I wanted to use.

  7. #292
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SharkBait View Post
    Their uncapped is way more expensive than CISP, whom I wanted to use.
    This is true but I would gladly pay that for not having to deal with telkom and my service provider telling me getting 8mbps on a "premium plus" 10mbps is acceptable.

  8. #293
    Super Grandmaster SharkBait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    8,331
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    And the fact that Vodacom capped is 100/50. I know I shouldn't complain, as it's still better than the joke of an ADSL service we get, but I was just hoping we get Vumatel. Also remember, with Vumatel, you "kinda" get a static IP and I don't know if you have ever had to use Vodacom's Support for broadband?

  9. #294
    King of de Jungle LazyLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    District 9
    Posts
    99,180
    Blog Entries
    21
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SharkBait View Post
    I see the trenching has started in Verwoerdpark. Haven't seen any identification boards or been able to ask anyone what it's for, but one can only assume it's Vumatel.
    Vumatel has pink netting around their trenches...
    They are busy rolling out in Brackenhurst and Brackendowns right now as well.
    Quote Originally Posted by Swa View Post
    It's ignorant to think that reason and science necessarily leads to progress.

  10. #295
    Super Grandmaster SharkBait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    8,331
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LazyLion View Post
    Vumatel has pink netting around their trenches...
    They are busy rolling out in Brackenhurst and Brackendowns right now as well.
    Yeah, we have the normal orange ones.

  11. #296
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SharkBait View Post
    Yeah, we have the normal orange ones.
    So does this mean we can only go with Vodacom and not select another provider?
    They just started digging outside my house in verwoerdpark.

    Come to think of it a Vodacom rep did call me a few weeks ago but she couldn’t tell me when they would be up and running.

    How long does it take once they’ve placed the fiber in your road?

  12. #297
    Super Grandmaster SharkBait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    8,331
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by free2rhyme View Post
    So does this mean we can only go with Vodacom and not select another provider?
    They just started digging outside my house in verwoerdpark.

    Come to think of it a Vodacom rep did call me a few weeks ago but she couldn’t tell me when they would be up and running.

    How long does it take once they’ve placed the fiber in your road?
    From start to finish it was about 3 weeks. They are installing today for me @ 1pm.

    Yes, for now we only have Vodacom as an option. They were supposed to go open access, but I don't that happened yet. They are Shit expensive.

  13. #298
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SharkBait View Post
    From start to finish it was about 3 weeks. They are installing today for me @ 1pm.

    Yes, for now we only have Vodacom as an option. They were supposed to go open access, but I don't that happened yet. They are Shit expensive.
    ah ok, I'll take Vodacom on a month to month. Hopefully it will be open access at a later stage.
    Yeh Vodacom is a bit pricey b ut my options are limited as my LTE is really crap lately

  14. #299
    Super Grandmaster pinball wizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oos Rand
    Posts
    10,370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SharkBait View Post

    Yes, for now we only have Vodacom as an option. They were supposed to go open access, but I don't that happened yet. .
    They are open access. They just have no other ISP's on their network...

  15. #300
    Super Grandmaster Arzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Back home...
    Posts
    26,049
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Anyone know if Seacom gave up on their Fibre to the South thing? See its no longer even on their website.
    Quote Originally Posted by faniedry View Post
    It's time you update your signature by the way.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 20 of 21 FirstFirst ... 10161718192021 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Dark Fibre Africa in Alberton?
    By LazyLion in forum General Broadband Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-11-2016, 12:59 PM
  2. Replies: 39
    Last Post: 08-12-2014, 09:01 PM
  3. Dark Fibre Africa discusses last-mile fibre plans
    By jes in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 30-04-2014, 10:10 AM
  4. Dark Fibre Africa talks about its fibre network growth plans
    By jes in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30-03-2012, 11:39 PM
  5. Dark Fibre Africa reaches 5,000km fibre milestone
    By rpm in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 23-03-2012, 08:17 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •