Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 29 of 113 FirstFirst ... 192526272829303132333979 ... LastLast
Results 421 to 435 of 1692

Thread: Splitting international and local traffic on a Linksys WRT54G

  1. #421
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6,278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ordinarily, $saixnews would be in your local routes and should come in/out via your local account. If your connection goes down, I guess there is a window of opportunity for the NS transfers to switch over to your international account. I'm not sure that something like...

    news 1 $saixnews 119 $mypc

    ...will protect you from that. Yes, traffic will be directed towards ppp1, but if ppp1 is down traffic will still go in/out via the default ppp0. Once ppp1 is back up, further NS activity will revert back to the local connection.

    If local is down for an extended period, and you have NS downloads going it could get expensive.

    Such instances are rare, but it may be worth looking at a fix that drops NS traffic when the intended interface goes down.

  2. #422
    Grandmaster mh348's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NW, SA
    Posts
    4,022
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I tried logging in via Telnet using PuttyTel, which I also use for my tivo. After entering my username and password I get a "Login Incorrect" Error Message, I used the same user/pass that I use on the web gui.
    Parcel Tracking >>> www.ParcelTrack.co.za
    For ESET Anti-Virus, Smart Security etc, New License or Renewals PM me
    Accounting Services http://irp5.co.za/

  3. #423
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6,278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mh348 View Post
    I tried logging in via Telnet using PuttyTel, which I also use for my tivo. After entering my username and password I get a "Login Incorrect" Error Message, I used the same user/pass that I use on the web gui.
    Try username "root", and then your router password.

  4. #424
    Grandmaster mh348's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NW, SA
    Posts
    4,022
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    Try username "root", and then your router password.
    Thanks, that works

    When I type ipconfig, it says ipconfig not found
    Code:
    ~ # ipconfig
    -sh: ipconfig: not found
    ~ #
    Parcel Tracking >>> www.ParcelTrack.co.za
    For ESET Anti-Virus, Smart Security etc, New License or Renewals PM me
    Accounting Services http://irp5.co.za/

  5. #425
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6,278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mh348 View Post
    Thanks, that works

    When I type ipconfig, it says ipconfig not found
    Code:
    ~ # ipconfig
    -sh: ipconfig: not found
    ~ #

    You'll be wanting:

    ifconfig.

  6. #426
    Grandmaster mh348's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NW, SA
    Posts
    4,022
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    You'll be wanting:

    ifconfig.
    Thanks again.
    Parcel Tracking >>> www.ParcelTrack.co.za
    For ESET Anti-Virus, Smart Security etc, New License or Renewals PM me
    Accounting Services http://irp5.co.za/

  7. #427
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    2,450
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Anyone considered using shorewall for easy iptable handling?

    http://wiki.openwrt.org/ShorewallHowTo

  8. #428
    Super Grandmaster mancombseepgood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    .
    Posts
    9,352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    Ordinarily, $saixnews would be in your local routes and should come in/out via your local account. If your connection goes down, I guess there is a window of opportunity for the NS transfers to switch over to your international account. I'm not sure that something like...

    news 1 $saixnews 119 $mypc

    ...will protect you from that. Yes, traffic will be directed towards ppp1, but if ppp1 is down traffic will still go in/out via the default ppp0. Once ppp1 is back up, further NS activity will revert back to the local connection.

    If local is down for an extended period, and you have NS downloads going it could get expensive.

    Such instances are rare, but it may be worth looking at a fix that drops NS traffic when the intended interface goes down.
    Yeah, that would be awesome - I had that once on an account - got a grand bill after a nights download

  9. #429
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,299
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    GateCrasher's suggestion in post #320 seems to work for me, haven't had local NS traffic going out over international since.

  10. #430
    Super Grandmaster mancombseepgood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    .
    Posts
    9,352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by qinglung View Post
    GateCrasher's suggestion in post #320 seems to work for me, haven't had local NS traffic going out over international since.
    Great! cos I'm using that atm...

  11. #431
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    273
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by qinglung View Post
    GateCrasher's suggestion in post #320 seems to work for me, haven't had local NS traffic going out over international since.
    Yes I'm going to be implementing that soon because I managed to clock up a few International gigs before I noticed that ppp1 had not been up in a long time.

  12. #432
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    2,450
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You could add to the firewall script to ban the news server IP from your international connection (assuming ppp0).

    Code:
    iptables -A OUTPUT -o ppp0 -d <nntp server ip> -p tcp --destination-port 119,563 -j DROP
    I think that should drop the outgoing requests. No point blocking the input from the news server on the international connection.

    Just not sure if the firewall rules die if the one connection goes down.

  13. #433
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,299
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheRift View Post
    You could add to the firewall script to ban the news server IP from your international connection (assuming ppp0).
    Just to make 100% absolutely really sure that no NS traffic is going out over international I'll add that too

  14. #434
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    2,450
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    To be triple sure, remove the "--destination-port 119,563".

    Regarding news servers, is saix NS always down? :P

  15. #435
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6,278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheRift View Post
    Regarding news servers, is saix NS always down? :P
    They're seldom down, but they are often busy, and it can take a long time to get connection.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 29 of 113 FirstFirst ... 192526272829303132333979 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •