Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 83 of 113 FirstFirst ... 337379808182838485868793 ... LastLast
Results 1,231 to 1,245 of 1692

Thread: Splitting international and local traffic on a Linksys WRT54G

  1. #1231
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm looking at connecting my neighbours to our network via a WLAN link (They are on the same property, just an agreement between us) and was wondering if it was possible to use different accounts for different computers.
    So all the IP adresses in the 192.168.2.1-255 range would use one international account while the 192.168.1.1-255 range would use another...

    Is this at all possible with this script or is there another way I can do it?
    Note: the neighbours do not necessarily need the local routing on their connection.

  2. #1232
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6,278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CodeMaster View Post
    OK, I need some hardware recommendations...
    My current setup is a WRT54G (v2.2) and a Linksys ADSL2MUE modem.

    I want to replace the modem because I think it has packed-up, and is the root of all my sync and disconnect problems. The ADSL2MUE doesn't seem to be available anymore, so what would be my best option at the moment? Should I just replace the modem with a cheap one, like a Billion or something? The nice thing is that the ADSL2MUE fits perfectly on the WRT54G
    I've used a Billion single port router (5200S) as modem for almost 3 years without any hassles.

    Otherwise, is there any Router+modem combo's that are supported by DD-WRT and the script? Then I would use the old WRT to connect to a WUG.
    DD-WRT doesn't work on combos. The firmware and script places itself between router and modem. They need to be separate.

    Or are then any other seperate router and modems that make up a nice set like the WRT54G and ADSL2MUE?
    You are starting to sound like my wife.

  3. #1233
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    631
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Try the Shiro DSL805eu modem.... Works fine for me on a 4mb line and I'm at the max line distance - 5km.
    The eu stands for ethernet & usb
    .

  4. #1234
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6,278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonno2343 View Post
    I'm looking at connecting my neighbours to our network via a WLAN link (They are on the same property, just an agreement between us) and was wondering if it was possible to use different accounts for different computers.
    So all the IP adresses in the 192.168.2.1-255 range would use one international account while the 192.168.1.1-255 range would use another...

    Is this at all possible with this script or is there another way I can do it?
    Note: the neighbours do not necessarily need the local routing on their connection.
    Theoretically it can be done. You would set their account up as an aux. You would need to add a routing instruction between the conn and link.

    Code:
    conn n aux
    echo "ip rule add from 192.168.2.0/24 table 10n" >> /tmp/build.pppn
    link $neighbouruser $neighbourpass
    You just need to replace n with the actual connection number.

    If this works as intended, all traffic from 192.168.2.0/24 should go out through the routing table and interface associated with their account.
    Last edited by Gatecrasher; 05-08-2009 at 03:54 PM.

  5. #1235
    Grandmaster CodeMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    I've used a Billion single port router (5200S) as modem for almost 3 years without any hassles.
    Yeah, I can get one for R410, so I will probably go with that. I take it that if you are using it, then it has all the features needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    DD-WRT doesn't work on combos. The firmware and script places itself between router and modem. They need to be separate.
    OK, didn't know that it doesn't support ANY combo's - I did try check a couple brands with no luck.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    You are starting to sound like my wife.
    You can't deny that they look cool stacked on top of each other

  6. #1236
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    Theoretically it can be done. You would set their account up as an aux. You would need to add a routing instruction between the conn and link.

    Code:
    conn n aux
    echo "ip rule add from 192.168.2.0/24 table 10n" >> /tmp/build.pppn
    link $neighbouruser $neighbourpass
    You just need to replace n with the actual connection number.

    If this works as intended, all traffic from 192.168.2.0/24 should go out through the routing table and interface associated with their account.
    Oh, wow! That simple
    Thanks, will definitely try that.
    Do you know if it's possible to try it out on a single IP address instead of an entire subnet?

  7. #1237
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Oh, and would that use local routing for them as well?
    If it does, is it possible to disable that and not have them route local sites through my local account? Or, to have another local account for them only?

  8. #1238
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6,278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonno2343 View Post
    Oh, and would that use local routing for them as well?
    If it does, is it possible to disable that and not have them route local sites through my local account? Or, to have another local account for them only?
    No, all routes from that network will go out the n connection. Traffic shouldn't even get the chance to look in the main routing table.

    You can replace the 192.168.2.0/24 with a specific address.

    I haven't tried or tested this solution, so I can only hope that it does the job.

  9. #1239
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ok, thanks.
    Will try this out and let you know.

  10. #1240
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have put

    conn 2 aux
    echo "ip rule add from 192.168.1.77 table 102" >> /tmp/build.ppp2
    link $coluser $colpass

    Where 192.168.1.77 is the IP I will be testing with.
    Is this correct? When the router is processing the local routes, I have internet access but when it has completed that, and the conn 2 is connected, there is no internet on my computers.

  11. #1241
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6,278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonno2343 View Post
    I have put

    conn 2 aux
    echo "ip rule add from 192.168.1.77 table 102" >> /tmp/build.ppp2
    link $coluser $colpass

    Where 192.168.1.77 is the IP I will be testing with.
    Is this correct? When the router is processing the local routes, I have internet access but when it has completed that, and the conn 2 is connected, there is no internet on my computers.
    Aw, no.

    Here is a list of commands to check if it has done what it should do. Run these in the GUI command box and post the results:

    ifconfig

    ip rule show

    ip route show table 102

    cat /tmp/build.ppp2

    If this doesn't work, don't give up hope as there is another way to do it.
    Last edited by Gatecrasher; 05-08-2009 at 10:04 PM.

  12. #1242
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Here we go:

    ifconfig:

    br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:8C:63:7E
    inet addr:192.168.1.1 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:70453 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:71061 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:11971039 (11.4 MiB) TX bytes:62219367 (59.3 MiB)

    br0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:8C:63:7E
    inet addr:169.254.255.1 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:8C:63:7E
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:143339 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:138605 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:79380705 (75.7 MiB) TX bytes:79214854 (75.5 MiB)
    Interrupt:5

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:8C:63:80
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:23599 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:179
    TX packets:30263 errors:38 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:10686265 (10.1 MiB) TX bytes:15104360 (14.4 MiB)
    Interrupt:4 Base address:0x1000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:4524 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:4524 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:286934 (280.2 KiB) TX bytes:286934 (280.2 KiB)

    ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:41.177.53.201 P-t-P:41.177.53.1 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
    RX packets:611 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:525 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:526751 (514.4 KiB) TX bytes:76896 (75.0 KiB)

    ppp1 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:41.144.34.219 P-t-P:41.144.34.1 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
    RX packets:356 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:361 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:178194 (174.0 KiB) TX bytes:29633 (28.9 KiB)

    ppp2 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:196.210.208.59 P-t-P:196.210.145.129 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
    RX packets:7 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:34 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:578 (578.0 B) TX bytes:16302 (15.9 KiB)

    vlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:8C:63:7E
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:83449 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:88476 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:20428452 (19.4 MiB) TX bytes:69232670 (66.0 MiB)

    vlan1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:8C:63:7F
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:59902 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:50066 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:56374578 (53.7 MiB) TX bytes:9378132 (8.9 MiB)

    ######################################

    ip rule show:

    0: from all lookup local
    84: from 192.168.1.77/29 lookup 102
    85: from 192.168.1.77/29 lookup 102
    86: from 192.168.1.77 lookup 102
    87: from 192.168.1.77/24 lookup 102
    88: from 192.168.1.77/29 lookup 102
    89: from 192.168.1.77 lookup 102
    90: from 192.168.1.77/24 lookup 102
    91: from 192.168.1.77/29 lookup 102
    92: from 192.168.1.77 lookup 102
    93: from 192.168.1.77/24 lookup 102
    94: from 192.168.1.77 lookup 102
    95: from 192.168.1.77/24 lookup 102
    96: from 192.168.1.77 lookup 102
    97: from 192.168.1.77/24 lookup 102
    98: from 192.168.1.77/24 lookup 102
    99: from 192.168.1.77/24 lookup 102
    100: from all fwmark 0x100 lookup 100
    101: from all fwmark 0x101 lookup 101
    102: from all fwmark 0x102 lookup 102
    32766: from all lookup main
    32767: from all lookup default

    ######################################

    ip route show table 102:

    196.210.145.129 dev ppp2 scope link src 196.210.208.59
    192.168.1.0/24 dev br0 scope link src 192.168.1.1
    127.0.0.0/8 dev lo scope link
    default dev ppp2 scope link

    ######################################

    cat /tmp/build.ppp2:

    #!/bin/sh
    echo "Running build.ppp2">> /tmp/build.log
    addr=`ip addr show dev ppp2|grep inet|awk '{print $2}'`
    ip route flush table 102
    peer=`ip addr show dev ppp2|grep inet|awk '{print $4}'|awk -F '/' '{print $1}'`
    ip route add default dev ppp2 table 102
    ip route add $peer dev ppp2 src $addr table 102
    ip rule del priority 102
    ip rule add fwmark 0x102 table 102 priority 102
    rout=`ip route show dev br0|grep -m 1 'src'|awk '{print $1}'`
    srce=`ip route show dev br0|grep -m 1 'src'|awk '{print $7}'`
    ip route add $rout dev br0 src $srce table 102
    rout=`ip route show dev lo|grep 'scope link'|awk '{print $1}'`
    ip route add $rout dev lo table 102
    ip rule add from 192.168.1.77/24 table 102
    #!/bin/sh
    echo "Running build.ppp2">> /tmp/build.log
    addr=`ip addr show dev ppp2|grep inet|awk '{print $2}'`
    ip route flush table 102
    peer=`ip addr show dev ppp2|grep inet|awk '{print $4}'|awk -F '/' '{print $1}'`
    ip route add default dev ppp2 table 102
    ip route add $peer dev ppp2 src $addr table 102
    ip rule del priority 102
    ip rule add fwmark 0x102 table 102 priority 102
    rout=`ip route show dev br0|grep -m 1 'src'|awk '{print $1}'`
    srce=`ip route show dev br0|grep -m 1 'src'|awk '{print $7}'`
    ip route add $rout dev br0 src $srce table 102
    rout=`ip route show dev lo|grep 'scope link'|awk '{print $1}'`
    ip route add $rout dev lo table 102
    ip rule add from 192.168.1.77 table 102
    #!/bin/sh
    echo "Running build.ppp2">> /tmp/build.log
    addr=`ip addr show dev ppp2|grep inet|awk '{print $2}'`
    ip route flush table 102
    peer=`ip addr show dev ppp2|grep inet|awk '{print $4}'|awk -F '/' '{print $1}'`
    ip route add default dev ppp2 table 102
    ip route add $peer dev ppp2 src $addr table 102
    ip rule del priority 102
    ip rule add fwmark 0x102 table 102 priority 102
    rout=`ip route show dev br0|grep -m 1 'src'|awk '{print $1}'`
    srce=`ip route show dev br0|grep -m 1 'src'|awk '{print $7}'`
    ip route add $rout dev br0 src $srce table 102
    rout=`ip route show dev lo|grep 'scope link'|awk '{print $1}'`
    ip route add $rout dev lo table 102
    ip rule add from 192.168.1.77/29 table 102
    #!/bin/sh
    echo "Running build.ppp2">> /tmp/build.log
    addr=`ip addr show dev ppp2|grep inet|awk '{print $2}'`
    ip route flush table 102
    peer=`ip addr show dev ppp2|grep inet|awk '{print $4}'|awk -F '/' '{print $1}'`
    ip route add default dev ppp2 table 102
    ip route add $peer dev ppp2 src $addr table 102
    ip rule del priority 102
    ip rule add fwmark 0x102 table 102 priority 102
    rout=`ip route show dev br0|grep -m 1 'src'|awk '{print $1}'`
    srce=`ip route show dev br0|grep -m 1 'src'|awk '{print $7}'`
    ip route add $rout dev br0 src $srce table 102
    rout=`ip route show dev lo|grep 'scope link'|awk '{print $1}'`
    ip route add $rout dev lo table 102
    ip rule add from 192.168.1.77/29 table 102
    Thanks very much GC

  13. #1243
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6,278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The build file and rule list are very messy. Whenever you save the startup script you should go to Administration>Maintenance and reboot the router.

    You can try
    Code:
    conn 2 aux
    echo "ip rule add from 192.168.1.77/32 table 102" >> /tmp/build.ppp2
    link $coluser $colpass
    The other way to try is this:

    Code:
    conn 2 aux
    echo "iptables -t mangle -I PREROUTING -s 192.168.1.77 -j MARK --set-mark 0x102">> /tmp/build.wall
    link $coluser $colpass
    Which marks traffic from 192.168.1.77 prior to routing, which then gets redirected to table 102.

    Good luck.

  14. #1244
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    Code:
    conn 2 aux
    echo "iptables -t mangle -I PREROUTING -s 192.168.1.77 -j MARK --set-mark 0x102">> /tmp/build.wall
    link $coluser $colpass
    Which marks traffic from 192.168.1.77 prior to routing, which then gets redirected to table 102.
    Good luck.
    Thanks very much, this one worked perfectly.

    The
    echo "ip rule add from 192.168.1.77/32 table 102" >> /tmp/build.ppp2
    didn't work though.

    Thanks very much, this is a great help!

    Sorry about the messy build log I do normally reboot it but forgot to this time...

  15. #1245
    Grandmaster bokka1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    2,709
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have a few questions regarding this method to split international and local.

    1. I have a Netgear DG834GT router which I want to use as the modem. Will the following router work with this http://www.asus.com/Product.aspx?P_ID=cOWUB0XOSysr4sBM method?
    2. If somebody has this what is the wireless range of this router and overall quality?
    3. Will I be able to get an open NAT for Xbox Live?

    I want to use this system with the Xbox as most games works peer-to-peer with just the authentication to the Live server being international. The host goes through 100 to 120 MB an hour in a game like Gears of War 2.
    Last edited by bokka1; 12-08-2009 at 03:42 PM.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 83 of 113 FirstFirst ... 337379808182838485868793 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •