Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: WiFi without line

  1. #1

    Default WiFi without line

    Hi. I'd like to know if it's possible to have wifi without having to install a phone line. Vodacom offered me this deal for a wifi router but will I need a line for that?

    If it is possible to have wifi without a line then what is the best option to go for.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flake012 View Post
    Hi. I'd like to know if it's possible to have wifi without having to install a phone line. Vodacom offered me this deal for a wifi router but will I need a line for that?

    If it is possible to have wifi without a line then what is the best option to go for.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks.
    Yes it's SIM card based, some routers also have a USB port that you can plug a 3G dongle/modem in.

  3. #3

    Default

    What I would do is get a ADSL router with 3G/4G failover in case you chose to get a line installed in the future.

  4. #4

    Default

    Yes it is possible. You dont need to go with Vodacom though, search for a WISP (wireless internet service provider) in your area and see what they have to offer.
    All my posts should be treated as sarcasm unless stipulated otherwise.

  5. #5

    Default

    Thank you all for your help. I'll start looking out for other options now.

  6. #6
    Super Grandmaster supersunbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Garsfontein, Pretoria
    Posts
    38,401

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flake012 View Post
    Hi. I'd like to know if it's possible to have wifi without having to install a phone line. Vodacom offered me this deal for a wifi router but will I need a line for that?

    If it is possible to have wifi without a line then what is the best option to go for.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks.
    Can buy the same from Telkom (mobile data, LTE, no line) as what Vodacom is offering you for much cheaper generally, if you have coverage.
    Quote Originally Posted by saor View Post
    saor is a dumbass

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pretoria East
    Posts
    5,974

    Default

    Yes there are quite a few options available now. Telkom, Vodacom, MTN and cell C, plus WISPs.

    The choice is yours to make.

    ADSL or VDSL with wireless failover.
    Last edited by Geoff.D; 24-03-2017 at 11:02 AM.

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Can PACE Router be used for wifi without a fixed line
    By Navash in forum PC Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-07-2016, 08:12 PM
  2. Telkom line (not wifi) hacked?
    By cbd in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 31-01-2016, 11:21 AM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17-09-2011, 08:23 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18-07-2007, 07:58 AM
  5. Wifi - 350m, no Line of Sight
    By Nips in forum Wi-Fi and WISP
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-11-2006, 02:06 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •