Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Internet over Coax cable

  1. #1

    Default Internet over Coax cable

    Hello all,

    Could anyone perhaps shed some light on the possibility and feasibility of providing network/internet access to individual flats in a residential complex over the existing coax cable for DSTV?

    Wat kind of equipment etc. would be needed?

    Thanks.

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pretoria East
    Posts
    5,678

    Default

    Out of the link offered, here is an important aspect to check out before investing in this equipment, especially when it comes to an RF distribution setup used for DStv services.

    [QUOTEA MoCA network is broadcasted roughly between 500MHz and 1.5GHz (1500MHz). The technology is designed so that it does not interfere with the broadcasts of traditional cable TV service. However, satellite TV, which runs on different spectrum, is not compatible with the 1.1 MoCA standard. For their respective multi-room DVR services, they use a proprietary coax networking technology. The MoCA 2.0 standard in development is expected to work for all service providers.*][/QUOTE]

  4. #4

    Default

    https://www.actiontec.com/products/h...rking/ecb6000/

    I did not even see that, thanks Geoff for pointing that out.

    In the link provided above, there is a MoCA 2.0 standard adapter. Now if you could just get it here.

  5. #5
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pretoria East
    Posts
    5,678

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stefanl33t View Post
    https://www.actiontec.com/products/h...rking/ecb6000/

    I did not even see that, thanks Geoff for pointing that out.

    In the link provided above, there is a MoCA 2.0 standard adapter. Now if you could just get it here.
    The issue is to make sure you know how and where you want to deploy the equipment. If it is on the the RF side of the decoders setup, it will probably work fine for existing UHF analogue connections. Not too sure what the impact of DTT (DVB-T2) will have.

    If it involves any RF cabling on the LNB side of the decoders, make absolutely sure that it will be compatible with the new Explora/unicable technology MC uses.

  6. #6
    Super Grandmaster gregmcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    20,403

    Default

    You want to go back to token ring?!

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster ponder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Niflheimr
    Posts
    64,201

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stefanl33t View Post
    https://www.actiontec.com/products/h...rking/ecb6000/

    I did not even see that, thanks Geoff for pointing that out.

    In the link provided above, there is a MoCA 2.0 standard adapter. Now if you could just get it here.
    There's also a tivo bridge moca2 adapter.
    entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem

  8. #8
    Super Grandmaster xrapidx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    32,536

    Default

    Name:  bnc.gif
Views: 127
Size:  15.5 KB

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gregmcc View Post
    You want to go back to token ring?!
    lol token ring was a superior technology to ethernet at the time

  10. #10
    Super Grandmaster ponder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Niflheimr
    Posts
    64,201

    Default

    https://www.satellitesuperstore.com/...ultiswitch.htm

    Something like that would be cool.
    entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem

  11. #11
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pretoria East
    Posts
    5,678

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sinbad View Post
    lol token ring was a superior technology to ethernet at the time
    I see there are still places where you can buy the equipment!

    It seems we are all hell bent on not running more cables around our homes.

    Me? with a fibre LAN in place I think I am okay for a while. One day I might even be able to exploit the fibre LAN to its full potential!

    A crew showed up at our pole in the corner this week and now I have a coil of 48-core fibre on a pole! Care of OpenServe. They are moving quite fast. The distribution is a combination of underground and overhead.

  12. #12
    Super Grandmaster xrapidx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    32,536

    Default

    Fibre Lan - at home?

  13. #13
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pretoria East
    Posts
    5,678

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xrapidx View Post
    Fibre Lan - at home?
    Yup, part of a trial about 5 years ago. Left the equipment in place ..... It is great!

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Geoff.D View Post
    Yup, part of a trial about 5 years ago. Left the equipment in place ..... It is great!
    It's actually affordable these days, my main link between house/cottage is a 30m fibre cable as the old copper degraded. When I have time I want to properly run fibre leads to each room's own switch.

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-11-2013, 07:23 AM
  2. 50m RG6 Coax Cable
    By Krypt0n1te in forum TV Services, including DStv, Video on Demand, Video Streaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26-11-2012, 11:36 AM
  3. HDMI cable picture quality is worse than my coax (DSTV to my TV) !
    By Rob123 in forum TV Services, including DStv, Video on Demand, Video Streaming
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 26-06-2012, 07:11 AM
  4. DSTV Dual View Remote Control through the COAX Cable
    By stoke in forum TV Services, including DStv, Video on Demand, Video Streaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-08-2008, 06:56 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-08-2008, 06:56 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •