Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Upgrade RAM (4GB) or HDD to SSD

  1. #1
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sunninghill
    Posts
    1,387

    Default Upgrade RAM (4GB) or HDD to SSD

    I have a notebook with 4gig RAM
    It is fairly mid range ( Core I5 - 5th gen I think.)

    I have money to upgrade RAM or SSD but not both.
    What should I do first, upgrade the RAM or get SSD and upgrade RAM when next i have some change ?

    I use it for general purpose stuff

    • 2 or 3 worksheet excel document
    • some word
    • lots of pdf
    • I live on chrome

  2. #2
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    On a pale blue dot.
    Posts
    1,240

    Default

    If you open your task manager, is your RAM close to full the whole time?

    All considered though I'd opt for the SSD for the biggest overall improvement.
    Sorry, Kevin Lancaster aka Newswire is a moderator/admin and you are not allowed to ignore him or her.

  3. #3

    Default

    Definitely SSD - will have the biggest immediate improvement - even your swap (when an app needs more than 4GB RAM) will then benefit from SSD.

  4. #4
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sunninghill
    Posts
    1,387

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Conack View Post
    If you open your task manager, is your RAM close to full the whole time?

    All considered though I'd opt for the SSD for the biggest overall improvement.
    YIP, I find myself having to TASKKILL /IM chrome.exe /F once daily

  5. #5
    Super Grandmaster Dan C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Beacon Bay (EL)
    Posts
    12,656

    Default

    SSD
    I never apologise. Iím sorry, thatís just the way I am.

  6. #6
    Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Yellow Iron Scrapyard
    Posts
    788

    Default

    SSD for OS
    with a decent size external drive for the "linux distros"
    If you're the smartest person in the room, you're in the wrong room.

  7. #7
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sedgefield
    Posts
    3,074

    Default

    SSD
    Grouterģ

  8. #8

    Default

    SSD no contest. The single easiest and best way to speed up your pc experience.

  9. #9
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sunninghill
    Posts
    1,387

    Default

    Thank you all.

  10. #10
    Super Grandmaster ponder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Niflheimr
    Posts
    65,693

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by qDot View Post
    YIP, I find myself having to TASKKILL /IM chrome.exe /F once daily
    Don't open so many tabs at once.
    entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem

  11. #11
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    JHB
    Posts
    10,014

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by qDot View Post
    YIP, I find myself having to TASKKILL /IM chrome.exe /F once daily
    RAM. Disk swapping will trash SSD and reduce its life.

  12. #12
    Super Grandmaster ponder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Niflheimr
    Posts
    65,693

    Default

    http://carbonite.co.za/showthread.php?171623-SSD-Sale

    You could probably get ram+ssd on carbonite to fit your budget.
    entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem

  13. #13

    Default

    ^+1
    SSD will make it faster, RAM will make it more stable/consistent for multi-tasking.

  14. #14
    Super Grandmaster Dan C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Beacon Bay (EL)
    Posts
    12,656

    Default

    Name:  SSD.jpg
Views: 119
Size:  7.4 KB
    I never apologise. Iím sorry, thatís just the way I am.

  15. #15
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sunninghill
    Posts
    1,387

    Default

    You were right, i installed an SSD and I cannot believe the performance.
    I can only upgrade to 8gig RAM from 4gig so end of the month i will get more ram.

    One thing is for sure, I am never going back to hdd again for the operating system.
    the hdd is still mounted for data only though but man, the performance improvement on this 4 year old notebook is jaw dropping.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrade Contract before your upgrade period
    By marhsava in forum Cellular: Mobile Phones, Call Contracts, Content, MMS and SMS
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20-04-2017, 06:29 PM
  2. Vodacom website says no upgrade - SMS says upgrade available -refers back to website!
    By xera in forum Vodacom Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-03-2015, 09:03 PM
  3. Will Cellc give me my upgrade 2 weeks before my upgrade date?
    By Richard101 in forum Cellular: Mobile Phones, Call Contracts, Content, MMS and SMS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26-01-2013, 09:52 PM
  4. Line upgrade vs account upgrade
    By Greylor in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-05-2010, 08:39 PM
  5. Minor upgrade, or major upgrade? That is the question.
    By SanchoP in forum PC Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 27-11-2007, 09:32 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •