Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Telkom Mobile no LTE NETWORK

  1. #1

    Default Telkom Mobile no LTE NETWORK

    I love Telkom Mobile due to its affordable data my disappointment is the it does not support LTE/4G network. So guys at Broadband please investigate this. I use a Blackberry Priv and it's not the phone as I tested other networks
    1. MTN
    2. CellC
    Never tested Vodacom.
    But the other two the networks the phone works fine on LTE/4G speeds. Have called spoke to telkom and told them their sim cards are not LTE/4G compatible. They said I'm at an area with no coverage. Question does that include Sandton areas as well?????

    Broadband please investigate.

  2. #2

    Default

    What area are you in?
    Also, is the sim LTE enabled? (some networks require you to have it enabled on your sim)

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CLIVE BARKER HAINES View Post
    I love Telkom Mobile due to its affordable data my disappointment is the it does not support LTE/4G network. So guys at Broadband please investigate this. I use a Blackberry Priv and it's not the phone as I tested other networks
    1. MTN
    2. CellC
    Never tested Vodacom.
    But the other two the networks the phone works fine on LTE/4G speeds. Have called spoke to telkom and told them their sim cards are not LTE/4G compatible. They said I'm at an area with no coverage. Question does that include Sandton areas as well?????

    Broadband please investigate.
    MYBB doesn't investigate, they promote partner content only.

  4. #4
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    3,221

    Default

    Telkom LTE is on the 2300Mhz band (TDD), check if the Priv supports this band, from the sounds of your experience, it does not.

  5. #5

    Default

    Blackberry Priv Network bands

    Europe, Middle East and Africa

    FD-LTE 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 13, 17, 20, 28 (2100/1900/18 00/1700/2600/900/700/700/800/700 MHz)

    TD-LTE 41 (2500 MHz)

    HSPA+ 1, 2, 4, 5/6, 8 (2100/1900/1700/850/900 MHz)

    Quad band GSM/GPRS/EDGE (850/900/1800/1900 MHz)


    Don't see support for the 2300Mhz band unfortunately.
    Looks like the problem is the phone.

  6. #6

    Default

    You should be able to connect to LTE on the 1800Mhz band. Both 1800mhz and 2300mhz are active for telkom

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster cavedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    9,132

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RedhotNeo View Post
    You should be able to connect to LTE on the 1800Mhz band. Both 1800mhz and 2300mhz are active for telkom
    Indeed and there is so many 1800MHz site active won't be surprised if there is more than 2300MHz. 1800MHz active on most if not all 3G Telkom towers.

    Tested in Soshanguve in Pretoria. No LTE coverage as per map but full LTE in most places. 1800MHz coverage is not showing on the map FYI.

  8. #8

    Default

    No issues here.. huawei p9 plus
    Sony VAIO VPCEB37FG i5 460M 4096MB DDR3 1066MHz ATi HD5650 1080P Full HD 15.5inch
    **********
    Blackberry Bold 9780 ; GT-i9300 ; GT-i9500 ; NOTE 3

  9. #9
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    3,221

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RedhotNeo View Post
    You should be able to connect to LTE on the 1800Mhz band. Both 1800mhz and 2300mhz are active for telkom
    AFAIK only 2300Mhz

  10. #10
    Super Grandmaster cavedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    9,132

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The_MAC View Post
    AFAIK only 2300Mhz
    Nope they have quite and extensive 1800MHz LTE network. In fact I think 1800MHz sites out number 2300MHz.

  11. #11

    Default

    They said I'm at an area with no coverage
    Everyone missing this???

    Should always be checked by the end user before switching to a new network.

    BTW, Telkom does support both 1800 and 2300mhz.

  12. #12
    Super Grandmaster cavedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Centurion
    Posts
    9,132

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PsYTraNc3 View Post
    Everyone missing this???

    Should always be checked by the end user before switching to a new network.

    BTW, Telkom does support both 1800 and 2300mhz.
    Agree but the 1800MHz coverage does not show up on Telkom coverage map. So I won't say people should base their decision on a coverage map. For Telkom test with a 1800MHz device and a 2300MHz device to check coverage.

    Clear example is a town called Empangeni in KZN. No Telkom 2300MHz coverage at all and the map shows no LTE coverage too but the town has three 3G and 1800MHz LTE towers covering the whole town. Uncapped LTE sim works there too but you can't buy it with an address in Empangeni. So just mentioning that.

  13. #13

    Default

    Telkom needs to buy a web designing company to handle web updates at a quicker rate

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RedhotNeo View Post
    Telkom needs to buy a web designing company to handle web updates at a quicker rate
    +1
    And then let the same people take care of the openserve site.

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Telkom mobile network hit by outage
    By Kevin Lancaster in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-05-2016, 02:59 PM
  2. Is the Telkom mobile network down?
    By Nimz in forum Telkom Mobile (8ta) Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 26-02-2016, 04:48 PM
  3. Telkom Mobile: connects to the network, but not to the net
    By _neo in forum Telkom Mobile (8ta) Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2016, 06:01 PM
  4. Linked to Telkom Mobile Network vs MTN network
    By Dabrifo in forum Telkom Mobile (8ta) Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-12-2015, 04:56 PM
  5. Telkom Launches (3G) Mobile Network.
    By RazedInBlack in forum Fixed Broadband
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-10-2008, 08:07 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •