Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Unresolved weird ADSL error.

  1. #1

    Question Unresolved weird ADSL error.

    Hi all
    I have the following problem with my ADSL.
    uTorrent is able to download at 370kB/s and upload at 34kB/s. I can do 10gigs easy.
    TeamViewer works 100%.

    But I can't surf the web, Facebook or YouTube. Outlook do not want to download mail.
    When I do a speed test I get 35kB/s down and 34kB/s up constant.
    Many Telkom faults been registered with no resolution to the problem.

    I have a Telkom ADSL line, @telkomsa.net uncap account.
    D-Link, DSL-2740U router(Firmware: ME_1.04)

    Please se the following:
    Name:  ADSL.PNG
Views: 107
Size:  17.1 KB

    Did any of you guys had this before?
    I'm totally moedeloos.

  2. #2

    Default

    Have you ruled out the computer? Tried a different web browser and different DNS settings in the router?
    Intel I5 2500K 1155 | 16GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator | EVGA GTX 970 FTW+ | 7.5TB | Corsair Graphite 600T

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rickster View Post
    Have you ruled out the computer? Tried a different web browser and different DNS settings in the router?
    Jip, have 3 gaming PC, 2 laptops and 4 phones. nothing changed on these devices. All the same for a year now.
    Did try out 8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4 with no change.
    Also did get a small Axxess capped acount to test. no change.

  4. #4

    Default

    Maybe dial in via PPPoE to rule out router.
    Intel I5 2500K 1155 | 16GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator | EVGA GTX 970 FTW+ | 7.5TB | Corsair Graphite 600T

  5. #5

    Default

    I had a similar issue with Axxess a while back which eventually turned out to be DNS issues. Check if you choose automatic DNS on your router what dns servers it is handing out? My instance it was the Family DNS settings causing the issues.

  6. #6

    Default

    Telkom told me it could be my equipment. So I get myself the Zyxel VMG1312-B10D from them with almost the same. The only thing now is the ISP account keep disconecting every so many minutes. But the ADSL stay stable. I also tested with a TP-Link that I borrowed with the same problem as the D-Link.

    I did not dial in via PPPoE yet. Will test that tonight.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by durbandave View Post
    I had a similar issue with Axxess a while back which eventually turned out to be DNS issues. Check if you choose automatic DNS on your router what dns servers it is handing out? My instance it was the Family DNS settings causing the issues.
    Did make sure I'm not on the Family DNS. Did not recorded the Axxess test acount automatic DNS.
    Currently I'm back on the Telkom account see the following.
    Name:  ADSL.PNG
Views: 80
Size:  5.1 KB

  8. #8

    Default

    Also must add that I'm not in the FUP, currently at 109gig.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StofstreepSA View Post
    Also must add that I'm not in the FUP, currently at 109gig.
    Have you tested via a different router?

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by durbandave View Post
    Have you tested via a different router?
    Jip, the Zyxel and TP-link. Same story.
    I will dial PPPoE tonight and test.

    Can it be that Telkom configure the port wrong and shape me on the wrong data?

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StofstreepSA View Post
    Jip, the Zyxel and TP-link. Same story.
    I will dial PPPoE tonight and test.

    Can it be that Telkom configure the port wrong and shape me on the wrong data?
    Ask the isp for a port reset. What do your router line stats show?

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by durbandave View Post
    Ask the isp for a port reset. What do your router line stats show?
    Did port reset many times, no luck. Line stats on the first post.

    Did a PPPoE dial and getting error 651. Did the google fix with no luck.
    I also see today the Telkom double LTE deal. I think I'm at the stage where I will cancel ADSL and get LTE.
    I'm on LTE now for a month due to no ADSL service. Could play BF1 on it.

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StofstreepSA View Post
    Did port reset many times, no luck. Line stats on the first post.

    Did a PPPoE dial and getting error 651. Did the google fix with no luck.
    I also see today the Telkom double LTE deal. I think I'm at the stage where I will cancel ADSL and get LTE.
    I'm on LTE now for a month due to no ADSL service. Could play BF1 on it.
    On the router manually change the dns to 169.1.1.4 and 169.1.1.10

    See if that makes any difference. On the axxess account.

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Weird Error
    By Photosbot4 in forum Photography
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-08-2015, 05:50 PM
  2. Weird error
    By Speedster in forum Networking and Security
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24-05-2011, 08:04 PM
  3. Weird error upon typing
    By WILDCARDUT in forum Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-02-2011, 09:26 PM
  4. Weird Vodacom4me Error
    By TheChuck in forum Vodacom Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-06-2008, 11:30 AM
  5. Weird myadsl error
    By |tera| in forum Forum suggestions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 04:52 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •