Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 46 to 60 of 60

Thread: How much storage capacity do you need in a smartphone?

  1. #46
    Super Grandmaster AlphaJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    3rd planet from Sol
    Posts
    5,617
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RedViking View Post
    On Android not too much because it has a habit to corrupt files.
    Hmmmm I smell a rat.

    The OS itself does not corrupt data seeing that its using Linux kernel, faulty hardware or crappy 3rd party drivers can do that, malware 2, but the OS not unless Your OEM modify it heavily.
    Last edited by AlphaJohn; 06-10-2017 at 01:06 PM.

  2. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    443
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    8GB is enough for me but then again I only use my phone for whatsapp really.

  3. #48
    Super Grandmaster Johnatan56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    17,981
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlphaJohn View Post
    Hmmmm I smell a rat.

    The OS itself does not corrupt data seeing that its using Linux kernel, faulty hardware or crappy 3rd party drivers can do that, malware 2, but the OS not unless Your OEM modify it heavily.
    Usually it's that the SD card isn't fast enough. Anything below class ~7 will often have android mark files as corrupt as it can't read them fast. Had this problem back when I had my first Android device and transferred my old SD card. Have only had Class 10 cards and haven't had any problems since, there were many documented cases of this, I am unsure of whether this still holds true, was back in 4.0 times when I migrated.
    Quote Originally Posted by ChocolateBadger View Post
    Welcome to life. It's your life. Do what you want.
    http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6723240596
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/6964814583

  4. #49
    Senior Member bwana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Plz
    Posts
    68,828
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    How long is a piece of string?
    "Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien." FM Arouet
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
    "Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience" Unknown
    Even duct tape can’t fix stupid… but it can muffle the sound

  5. #50
    Super Grandmaster Hamish McPanji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Jhb
    Posts
    32,976
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bwana View Post
    How long is a piece of string?
    70mm
    “Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety."

    - Benjamin Franklin

  6. #51
    Super Grandmaster HavocXphere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    31,485
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No idea. Price diff was insignificant so got the biggest one.

    Quote Originally Posted by AlphaJohn View Post
    Hmmmm I smell a rat.

    The OS itself does not corrupt data seeing that its using Linux kernel, faulty hardware or crappy 3rd party drivers can do that, malware 2, but the OS not unless Your OEM modify it heavily.
    haha. Linux as great as it is is definitely prone to data corruption...google ext4 issues and you'll see what I mean.
    Beware weapons grade stupidity in post following this one

  7. #52
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I prefer 32gig. But Ive been happy with a 16gig Iphone for two years, it was the cheapest option. I have access to the internet 99% of my life so I need 16gig, i think.

  8. #53
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    sorry for interrupting this forum i am new to this i would just want to know how long does it take for money to be available that is transfered from usa to south africa? days/weeks?

  9. #54
    Super Grandmaster HavocXphere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    31,485
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lukavic View Post
    sorry for interrupting this forum i am new to this i would just want to know how long does it take for money to be available that is transfered from usa to south africa? days/weeks?
    Couple of days. Other side usually needs to fill in paperwork to accept it
    Beware weapons grade stupidity in post following this one

  10. #55
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3,113
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    64GB

  11. #56
    Super Grandmaster HavocXphere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    31,485
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Forgot to mention earlier - the fact that Netflix allows series & movies to be downloaded was a big factor in my decision to get a big one
    Beware weapons grade stupidity in post following this one

  12. #57
    Super Grandmaster sand_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    26,248
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    32gig is the sweet spot for me but I won't say no to 64gb. 128gb would be over kill...
    Every minute I stay in this room, I get weaker, and every minute Charlie squats in the bush, he gets stronger

  13. #58
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Soshanguve, Pretoria
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    32gb is fear enough, because there's lots of apps to download and I also need to update apps every 2 weeks.

  14. #59
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Radiokop
    Posts
    3,294
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    128 GB here, under 30 GB free.

  15. #60
    Super Grandmaster Park@82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    11,097
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Probably 64GB. Already 35GB in use. Mainly photos and videos.
    "Why is there something rather than nothing?"
    Gottfried Leibniz

+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Similar Threads

  1. Large capacity 40Tb+ storage for video archiving, RAID? Any advice?
    By kbilly in forum PC Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 21-09-2016, 12:20 PM
  2. New 5D storage offers 360TB/disc data capacity
    By rpm in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17-02-2016, 05:54 PM
  3. Smartphone storage specs advertising confusion in SA
    By jes in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 09-10-2013, 10:07 PM
  4. Man sues Microsoft over Surface storage capacity
    By Jeremy Proome in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 16-11-2012, 09:39 AM
  5. Google to double storage capacity of G-Mail
    By Chris_the_Brit in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-04-2005, 10:59 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •