Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 20 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 290

Thread: RAIN LTE-A: Speedtests

  1. #1
    Flashgear Flashgear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,221
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default RAIN LTE-A: Speedtests

    Consistently getting these speeds for past month +

    WebAfrica.


  2. #2
    Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    514
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flashgear View Post
    Consistently getting these speeds for past month +

    WebAfrica.

    Never heard of a speed like that on Rain thought it was capped at 50mbps what is your setup though

  3. #3
    Flashgear Flashgear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,221
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by under_sky View Post
    Never heard of a speed like that on Rain thought it was capped at 50mbps what is your setup though
    The theoretical max speed with them is 150Mbps. They just advertise 10-50Mbps as an average.

    My setup is literally my Huawei router shoved in the corner of my bedroom.

    Another test, different server too:

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/6663161713.png
    Last edited by Flashgear; 28-09-2017 at 05:52 PM.

  4. #4
    Super Grandmaster SauRoNZA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    26,524
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What's the prize? Where's the competition?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    113
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    insane, never saw before, do you live under tower?

  6. #6
    Grandmaster djbrendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Western Cape-George
    Posts
    2,413
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by walt chen View Post
    insane, never saw before, do you live under tower?
    Probably mounted on his roof

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    6,704
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Slightly off topic, what type of antenna do I need for the Huawei router and where do I get it in CT? Have an account at Miro

    Thanks

    I am only getting 8mb down and 6mb up and suspect it might be a poor signal. Most times all 3 lights are on, but right now only one. The transmitter is about 800m from me line of sight

    Edit: Miro only have single pole YAGIs for LTE
    Last edited by chrisc; 06-10-2017 at 02:31 PM.
    Things won are done; joy's soul lies in the doing

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    130
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisc View Post
    Slightly off topic, what type of antenna do I need for the Huawei router and where do I get it in CT? Have an account at Miro

    Thanks

    I am only getting 8mb down and 6mb up and suspect it might be a poor signal. Most times all 3 lights are on, but right now only one. The transmitter is about 800m from me line of sight

    Edit: Miro only have single pole YAGIs for LTE
    Buy from poynting direct, poynting Xpol 6 antenna. From otto.co.za you buy 2 x ts9 to sma adapters. Then you are sorted. And of course pole and bracket for mounting against wall, this you can buy from ellies.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Name:  WhatsApp Image 2017-10-10 at 1.12.46 PM.jpeg
Views: 2398
Size:  23.3 KB

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    315
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you're in Cape Town, what speeds do you achieve? I live in Wynberg...

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by m.zakariyya.g View Post
    If you're in Cape Town, what speeds do you achieve? I live in Wynberg...
    Im in Cape Town but in the Bo Oakdale area

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Klerksdorp
    Posts
    252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default



    Test from Klerksdorp to JHB Hitec Sure

  13. #13
    Grandmaster HowTo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    East Rand
    Posts
    2,323
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Springs

    Ping: 17ms
    Download: 44.98Mbps
    Upload: 11.99Mbps

    With antenna.

  14. #14
    Super Grandmaster RichardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Johannesburg/Jozzi South Africa
    Posts
    11,594
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Huawei Router Status Bar: 1
    Rain Coverage: None
    Johannesburg South
    Service Provider: Afrihost

    DOWNLOAD
    9.83Mb/s
    UPLOAD
    1.21Mb/s
    PING
    18 ms
    RATING
    3/5 Stars
    DEVICE
    HUAWEI VNS-L31
    ISP
    2/5 Stars
    IBURST
    SERVER
    JOHANNESBURG
    Loving technology&gadgets own a Samsung Galaxy S4, Ativ S , Apple iPad4 Cellular 64 GB, i7 ivy bridge - Porting Successful

  15. #15
    Senior Member ekkekan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Gauteng
    Posts
    121
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Name:  speedtest.jpg
Views: 2328
Size:  40.0 KB

    Test done in Centurion. Following the Rain test result above done 10m away from the router I moved to 2m away and got a 30Mps download and 0.6Mps upload.

    The only drawback so far for the Rain Router is the weak WiFi signal. My TP-Link ADSL router gives me a signal even 40m away from my house.
    Last edited by ekkekan; 10-10-2017 at 11:22 PM. Reason: Added 2nd test result.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 20 1234511 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. VDSL Speedtests
    By Thor in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20-02-2017, 11:13 AM
  2. Speedtests
    By Photosbot1 in forum Photography
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21-08-2015, 02:18 PM
  3. Cell c speedtests
    By Photosbot1 in forum Photography
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-08-2015, 01:50 PM
  4. Do certain ISP's manipulate Speedtests?
    By Totempole in forum ADSL and VDSL ISP Discussions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 23-10-2014, 08:26 PM
  5. Even Speedtests time out!
    By Anti Neo Light in forum General Broadband Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-04-2009, 04:55 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •