Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New fibre installation - Afrihost login issue

  1. #1

    Default New fibre installation - Afrihost login issue

    Hi.

    My fibre installation was completed a week ago, but I have been battling to get my router to work using the Afrihost login details. Afrihost keep giving me the same instructions ..
    1) Configure router to use PPPoE
    2) Enter your username/password into the router
    3) You will have Internet access

    FYI: I am using a standard Afrihost-supplied router.

    If I use the [email protected] test account then my router immediately connects to the Openserve system, and the speed test indicates that my line is running at the correct speed.

    But when I enter my Afrihost userame/password then my router takes about 5 minutes to establish a connection, and after eventually establishing a connection I am unable to connect to or even ping any web site.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Frank

  2. #2
    Super Grandmaster SharkBait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    7,230

    Default

    You can confirm the login details for the PPPoE connection on the Afrihost client portal. Also, get a free 1GB account and see if that works?

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks for the suggestions.

    1) I'm not aware of any Afihost free 1Gb fibre accounts. I will ask Afrihost if this type of account exists for their fibre network.

    2) The Afrihost portal doesn't allow me to do much with my fibre account. It just shows my account status as ..

    "Processing Order
    Congratulations! Your order has been placed with Openserve and is being processed. A line installation is required, Openserve will be in touch regarding this. Once your line is installed you will be connected via Afrihost. We will notify you when everything is up and running."

    which is a bit odd, since they have already contacted me, and supplied me with a username and password.



    Quote Originally Posted by SharkBait View Post
    You can confirm the login details for the PPPoE connection on the Afrihost client portal. Also, get a free 1GB account and see if that works?

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBaldAndTheBeautiful View Post
    Thanks for the suggestions.

    1) I'm not aware of any Afihost free 1Gb fibre accounts. I will ask Afrihost if this type of account exists for their fibre network.

    2) The Afrihost portal doesn't allow me to do much with my fibre account. It just shows my account status as ..

    "Processing Order
    Congratulations! Your order has been placed with Openserve and is being processed. A line installation is required, Openserve will be in touch regarding this. Once your line is installed you will be connected via Afrihost. We will notify you when everything is up and running."

    which is a bit odd, since they have already contacted me, and supplied me with a username and password.
    The password you were sent was wrong.
    Phone them and they will give you the right one, or use the live chat.
    Seems to be a common problem. Its happened to me and a family member.
    Cyberoam Certified Network Security Professional
    3CX Advanced Certified Engineer

  5. #5

    Default

    Thanks, I will ask for a password reset.

    FYI: The Live Chat functionality has never worked for me. I always get this message;
    "Welcome to our Live Chat
    Our Agents are not available at this time. Please leave a message. Thank you."



    Quote Originally Posted by killerbyte View Post
    The password you were sent was wrong.
    Phone them and they will give you the right one, or use the live chat.
    Seems to be a common problem. Its happened to me and a family member.

  6. #6

    Default

    UPDATE:

    After speaking to the Afrihost support staff it turns out that it wasn't a password issue. My account wasn't even fully configured on the Afrihost system.

    I'm not sure why they didn't notice for an entire week of me complaining (on an almost daily basis). It looks like logging online support tickets is not the best way of dealing with Afrihost problems.


    Quote Originally Posted by TheBaldAndTheBeautiful View Post
    Thanks, I will ask for a password reset.

    FYI: The Live Chat functionality has never worked for me. I always get this message;
    "Welcome to our Live Chat
    Our Agents are not available at this time. Please leave a message. Thank you."

  7. #7
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Stellenbosch, Republic of the Western Cape
    Posts
    2,976

    Default

    -deleted-
    --
    ADSL Line: 20Mbps via Afrihost 100Mb Capped

    Keep Calm And Engage Low Range

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBaldAndTheBeautiful View Post
    UPDATE:

    After speaking to the Afrihost support staff it turns out that it wasn't a password issue. My account wasn't even fully configured on the Afrihost system.

    I'm not sure why they didn't notice for an entire week of me complaining (on an almost daily basis). It looks like logging online support tickets is not the best way of dealing with Afrihost problems.
    That's not cool to hear! Are you connected now? If you are still having trouble please Inbox me your details so that I can find out what's going on.
    "Great Scott!"

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Help needed Afrihost Fibre installation
    By myles in forum Fibre
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-09-2017, 05:43 PM
  2. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-08-2017, 08:26 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13-06-2017, 06:47 PM
  4. Login details before line installation
    By GSRit01 in forum ADSL and VDSL Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-06-2015, 09:14 AM
  5. Replies: 39
    Last Post: 08-12-2014, 09:01 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •