Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: How is Cell C these days?

  1. #1
    Super Grandmaster whatwhat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,446
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default How is Cell C these days?

    There is a network issues pinned thread, but isn't that active anymore.

    A few years ago I was on Cell C, both prepaid and contract and it was horrible. Full signal but no data or phone calls would work (circa 2013/2014)

    However as I am spending more time in foreign countries I need wifi calling for my SA number. At the moment MTN doesn't offer it, and Vodacom wifi calling doesn't work on IOS outside of SA.

    So Cell C is my only option at the moment, but I don't want to port and find out the number is just as useless as it was a few years ago.

  2. #2
    Super Grandmaster whatwhat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,446
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Just to add, I don't want to sign up for a contract as I won't be in SA to go argue with people over rogue debit orders. So have to be prepaid.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    444
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's been much better in recent times. If you don't need lot minutes to use, Wi-Fi calling comes off normal airtime at local rates as long as you calling home to a S.A. phone (from overseas). If you need lot in that month you can always purchase a R199 Wi-Fi calling bundle (FUP).

  4. #4
    Admin rpm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    63,467
    Blog Entries
    17
    Mentioned
    67 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It really depends where you are. In some areas Cell C rocks, while they struggle in other areas.

    Roaming on Vodacom is still only 3G, so keep that in mind if you travel a lot.

  5. #5
    SmoothOokerMaximus The_Librarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Dark room in Adventure. Grues abound.
    Posts
    16,729
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    We have issues with CellC in our area (Mnandi). When the power goes (blackout), the signal goes away, and we cannot get this resolved.
    500th anniversary of the Protestant Reformation has passed.

  6. #6
    Cell C Representative Cell_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    2,910
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi Guys

    Our Network Team is ready and equipped to assist with all network related matters. Please PM us your address, the affected number and contact details for the matter to be escalated accordingly.

    ^MM

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    444
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cell_C View Post
    Hi Guys

    Our Network Team is ready and equipped to assist with all network related matters. Please PM us your address, the affected number and contact details for the matter to be escalated accordingly.

    ^MM
    Hey MM

    It's 9pm. Take a break

  8. #8
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    JHB
    Posts
    11,179
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Tralala....

    Cell_C didn't read the OP.

    Why you don't try on prepaid SIM? You can port later. Cell C is much better now comparing to few years ago. I was using GiGa packages for the last few years. Currently using Telkom (lot of data) and Cell C 1GB p/m. Telkom is very congested during evenings, Cell C is far more stable.

    I stay in the same area as The_Librarian, but I can't comment about Cell C towers going off during power cuts as when power goes off my router is losing power too. We have regular power cuts in the area. I noticed on my phone that Telkom 3G goes down if power is off for more than half an hour, but GSM voice is still working.
    "We own South Africa but State Capture is a problem as Zuma has friends and no-one belong to our family."

  9. #9
    SmoothOokerMaximus The_Librarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Dark room in Adventure. Grues abound.
    Posts
    16,729
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Maybe @Ook and @sajunky should meet?
    500th anniversary of the Protestant Reformation has passed.

  10. #10
    Super Grandmaster SauRoNZA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    26,939
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Switched from Vodacom to FNB Connect (CellC) in February and I couldn't be happier.

    Vodacom still sends me a 0 bill every month...

    I was on CellC 10+ years ago and left after one contract term due to endless customer support issues and even more when trying to kill the contract.

    Not sure if that has changed but then technically I'm dealing with FNB Connect now which is slightly different. Not sure how that works internally but the service was great when I did need it.

  11. #11
    Super Grandmaster whatwhat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,446
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SauRoNZA View Post
    Switched from Vodacom to FNB Connect (CellC) in February and I couldn't be happier.

    Vodacom still sends me a 0 bill every month...

    I was on CellC 10+ years ago and left after one contract term due to endless customer support issues and even more when trying to kill the contract.

    Not sure if that has changed but then technically I'm dealing with FNB Connect now which is slightly different. Not sure how that works internally but the service was great when I did need it.
    Since FNB Connect is on Cell C does it offer wifi calling?

  12. #12
    Super Grandmaster whatwhat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5,446
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sajunky View Post
    Why you don't try on prepaid SIM? You can port later. Cell C is much better now comparing to few years ago.
    I'll be moving to Asia for 2-3 months as of Sunday, so I need to port to a provider by tomorrow and hopefully make the right choice.

  13. #13
    Super Grandmaster SauRoNZA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    26,939
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whatwhat View Post
    Since FNB Connect is on Cell C does it offer wifi calling?
    Yes indeed.

    (We had this chat before. )




  14. #14
    Super Grandmaster SauRoNZA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    26,939
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whatwhat View Post
    I'll be moving to Asia for 2-3 months as of Sunday, so I need to port to a provider by tomorrow and hopefully make the right choice.
    Where are you going ?

  15. #15
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    JHB
    Posts
    11,179
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whatwhat View Post
    I'll be moving to Asia for 2-3 months as of Sunday, so I need to port to a provider by tomorrow and hopefully make the right choice.
    So get it now. You can port back after 3 months when you come back and you are not happy from local towers. Your overseas WiFi calls are not affected by local towers (only valid when you communicate with Cell C users, the same as you would use Vodacom SIM). From the network perspective Cell C works very well.

    Make sure that porting is done and WiFi calling is enabled on your SIM by testing. It is not done by default. On the prepaid SIM you won't be able to enable international roaming, but it is even better to not do so.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Death row inmate found hanged in cell days before execution
    By Celine in forum News and Current Affairs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-08-2013, 09:54 AM
  2. Cell C 3gig R399 valid for 365 days
    By Skywalker786 in forum Cell C Mobile Data
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 17-01-2013, 12:10 PM
  3. 3 days to Port from Vodacom to Cell C?
    By Armchair in forum Cell C Mobile Data
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-12-2012, 02:42 PM
  4. WTF Cell C and days bundle conversion
    By PsyCLown in forum Cell C Mobile Data
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 21-09-2012, 12:37 PM
  5. 16 million SMSes in three days: Cell C
    By rpm in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-01-2006, 04:13 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •