Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: One way audio

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default One way audio

    Hi there, my name is Liam and I'm trying to set up a local voip system in my house
    I'm using Minisipserver because I cant be bothered with linux at the moment
    Server is fine, extensions register but there's either no audio, very bad audio or one way audio
    I had the same problem with AsteriskNOW
    I have tried to setup a STUN server which worked but didn't resolve the problem

    Any help would be appreciated

    -Liam

  2. #2
    Active Member csc003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Kempton Park
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    @Liamza2314 Its not perhaps the solution you looking for, but have you considered 3CX? Its really a easy Voip System.

  3. #3
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Infinity and Beyond
    Posts
    5,909
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    @Liamza2314
    Check your codecs.

    Make sure you use G729 on your extensions (phone or softphone) and on the server.
    Do you have access to logs?

  4. #4
    Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    679
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    3CX FTW... easy to set up, no issues

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    425
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Liamza2314 View Post
    Hi there, my name is Liam and I'm trying to set up a local voip system in my house
    I'm using Minisipserver because I cant be bothered with linux at the moment
    Server is fine, extensions register but there's either no audio, very bad audio or one way audio
    I had the same problem with AsteriskNOW
    I have tried to setup a STUN server which worked but didn't resolve the problem

    Any help would be appreciated

    -Liam
    If it is only local VoIP, as in no VoIP to the Internet, then you do not need a STUN server.
    If you have no audio or bad audio quality between your phones then some things to check:
    - length of the Ethernet cable
    - Is power cable running next to Ethernet cable?
    - Are announcements from the server to a phone clear?

    Do the phones work if they are on short cables and close to the sip server?
    3G South Africa for LoRa Gateways & Modules

    Order your FREE Advinne SIM Card where 2GB 30 day bundles are R95.

  6. #6
    Grandmaster gfmalan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    /\/ŻŻŻŻŻŻ\/\
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Liamza2314 View Post
    Hi there, my name is Liam and I'm trying to set up a local voip system in my house
    I'm using Minisipserver because I cant be bothered with linux at the moment
    Server is fine, extensions register but there's either no audio, very bad audio or one way audio
    I had the same problem with AsteriskNOW
    I have tried to setup a STUN server which worked but didn't resolve the problem

    Any help would be appreciated

    -Liam
    Hi @Liamza2314,

    Do you connect your PBX to an external VoIP provider?
    Or is this problem you are having between extensions?

    One way speech is most likely a network / NAT issue.

    If it is a local only issue, make sure that the codec in use at PBX and phones are the same, use only alaw as test, also ping every device and make sure you have propper connection between devices, on a LAN it should be in the <5ms range with no time outs.

    How many extensions and phones do you have connected? For more than 2, can you make test calls between all the combinations, and do you still have same one direction audio issue? Or is some combinations working?

    Please help with more info that we can help better.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You know, it's become such a headache I've decided to just give up on the project

    Thanks to everyone who contributed with suggestions

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Roku audio versus WD audio settings
    By Milano in forum TV Services, including DStv, Video on Demand, Video Streaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2015, 11:23 AM
  2. Various Car Audio
    By Mypro-D in forum Classifieds - For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18-03-2014, 08:29 PM
  3. Audio out on TV
    By pokkel in forum TV Services, including DStv, Video on Demand, Video Streaming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-07-2013, 06:17 PM
  4. M-Audio Firewire 410 Audio Interface: Classifieds
    By mybb.bot in forum Classifieds - For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-10-2012, 10:00 PM
  5. Car Audio in JHB
    By Decotey in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-03-2011, 05:52 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •